Patience gets you somewhere


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Honduras Travels


The busThe busThe bus

Upholstery repaired
I greeted San Pedro Sula, Honduras last night. My charming taxi driver, Wilmer, graciously gave me some basic Spanish lessons on our drive through the streets of the city to my hostel. It could have been a city in the US, except for the Spanish signs. There was McDonalds and Applebee's, traffic lights, several lanes of traffic, people driving sensibly. And two senoras greeted me at the hostel, where they were having a small party outside in front of the building, in the street. "Sola" they ask, si, I respond--yes, I was very much alone.

This morning I bought a bus ticket to Gracias, the capital of Honduras from the 1500's. I bought it with the utmost difficulty, and was dismayed that I would have to wait two hours until the bus would leave. But at least it would be first class. I soon learned what that meant--first of all, I had to wait another two hours, total of four, and the "directo" bus just meant that it eventually got there. It was the classic school bus turned public transport, with the flattened seats from loads of butts squashing them, seats torn to shreds and repaired with thin plastic, bags of fruit, clothes, and who knows what lining the racks above the seats on both sides. So much for the first class bus. At least the unknown named man, who worked at the bus station, got me on the right bus. He had a round face, pendulous belly, and openly leered at the tightly bound rear ends of young women as they walked past him. He made a big deal out of sitting me down in a particular seat in the bus station, holding my hand, assuring me he would look out for me. And when he finally loaded me on the bus, he sat me down in the bus seat and ceremoniously kissed my hand.

Four hours of a hair raising ride later, rising into the mountainous western highlands, we arrived in Gracias. Now I am at a lovely hotel overlooking the small city. Tomorrow I will arise early and go to the nearby park, and go bird watching with Don Luis, the recommended guide. He speaks no English. I figure it will be good practice for me and my limited Spanish.

No photos yet, but I am sure to have some for the next post.
All
The VendorsThe VendorsThe Vendors

They sell drinks, chips, chicken, fans, CD´s,
is well, patience gets one somewhere eventually. I am sticky and tired, but am about to eat my comida tipica.


Advertisement



8th May 2010

Kudos
Hooray Terry....you are on the road and have this BLOG interface...wishing you more beauty and looking forward to your "discoveries."
8th May 2010

I enjoyed your Caribbean post. It made me want to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos and hostel reviews. If you have any time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
8th May 2010

What fun!
Quizas es mejor si escribo en espanol... para ayudarte apprender mas rapido! Espero que tienes un viaje maravilloso -- estoy anticipando leyendo de tus aventuras con mucho gusto! Cuidate... (Perhaps it's better if I write in Spanish... to help you learn faster! I hope you have a marvelous trip -- I'm anticipating with great pleasure reading about your adventures! Be careful!)
8th May 2010

First class
I wonder what economy buses are like! Enjoy! Glad we are here living your trip vicariously! Dianne
8th May 2010

bon voyage
Glad you made it there safe and sound, with no volcanic ash affecting your flights. You know if you are on a first class bus when there are no chickens on the bus sharing your seat. Happy trails. Stephen
11th May 2010

Sounds like too much fun! What an adventure!
12th May 2010

Ahhhhhh
Sounds lovely, in the moment, in the moment . . . PEACE! XXOO

Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb