Six weeks in Utila


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hard to believe been here for six weeks this weekend. Sometimes feels like I have been here forever though!


Dave and Ann left this week so that’s my drinking buddy and La Pirata buddy gone! (pub that shows footy)

Thanks to Ann had a course of antibiotics for my ear and some special ear drops but my ear still not perfect.
Hope you two safe and at your next destination, safe travelling and may meet you in La Paz.


Two more couples arrived this week (Charlotte & Andrew, Liz & Kevin) both seem cool and are hardened travelers, Char and Andy just came from Peru where they had torrential rain and landslides!

Macha Pichu closed at the moment but should be reopened for when I get there.

Helen arrived this week too so we now have a full house again!

Did the hike to Rockharbour again this week (older blog) so got nice and muddy and then swimming before walking back. We have to check 3 different beaches each week to see if the pregnant females moving to nest yet, not seen any though yet.


I had to lead theis weeks transect because no staff available, saw some poachers and heard gunshots while we were in the mangroves! Meant the iguanas scared away so only saw 3 comared to 16 last time did in the sun.


One of the guys measured the temperature in the sun that day and it was 51 degrees c !! We were out in it for 4 hours, felt bit done in that night, must drink more water!

Mind you meant I could leave my washing in bucket of soapy water for an hour to get a 40 degree wash.lol


Originally booked to stay at station until 24th April but have told them I am going to leave early, hopefully this weekend if I can sort out a room or apartment. Just fancy having a month to chill and enjoy the island more rather than working!
Can get a 1 bed apartment with kitchen, cable and wifi etc for about 320 US$ just need to find one empty with spring break and easter coming.


So I can have lay ins and enjoy the beaches more, also Urs the swiss guy who built the schoolhouse has a boat and in the pub the other day said he could take me out fishing or to the Cays, which would be cool.


Not got many new pictures for the blog so just picked a few random ones. I was laying in one of the hammocks this week and it collapsed! Luckily my feet end so was not hurt.


Hopefully next blog I will be in my own place and can have some marky time!

larf



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



14th March 2010

fair play mate, work is work no matter where you are
14th March 2010

You won{t replace me!!!
Nice blog man! 50 degrees, sounds like fun. It feels like a million degrees here. We in Granada, Nicaragua now for couple of days its nice here. Discovered that Utila is expensive (reletivley speaking) Had lunch today, Chicken and chops with rice, potatos, beans, plantain and salad for 60 Limps!! Awesome. Beer is only 15 limps (actually Cordobas but essentially the same). So you getting out of Iguana station. I bet if I came back in 2 weeks you will be in the barefoot band singing "the power of love" or a similar 80s rock anthem. Stay safe mate and stay in touch and remember, youll never replace me for a drinking buddy!!! Laters
20th March 2010

Caught up with your blog
Hi Mark, just caught up with about 3 week's blog - love it. It is cold and raining here, we had a few days of sunshine and thought winter was over - British optimism can't beat it - people out in shorts in March! So if you send us some of you degrees we could all be happy. V impressed with pics of bats. Pompey have beaton Hull 3-2. Bestest Helen x
21st March 2010

Ohhh man
Looks like the eel has plenty to drink :) Swampy looks like he's had his picture taken before. Did he ask for money LOL Gr8 to see ur having an amazing time. Gig love. I mean big love, both apt though.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb