Last days in Panama


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is why I am hereThis is why I am hereThis is why I am here

Aa slash and burn hillside...
This last weekend was beautiful, I was able to get down to the Pacific coast again and meet some really amazing people. I stayed in a cabin called Eco Venoa. Eco Venoa is basically a surf camp/hostel for people to stay from all over the world. This camp practices recycling (which is rare in Panama), water conservation, and composting. Everyone was very conscienous. We all cooked orgainic foods, drank organic coffee, and listened as howler monkeys screamed at us from the trees. .... awww beautiful.

However, I recieved some negative feedback when I explained that I worked with the Peace corp here. A couple of the guys (American) told me that I had no business meddling in another countries affairs. I want to take a minute now, as I did then, to explain again what we are doing here.

I work with 7 Panamians at my office. I am the ONLY american here. Our organization works almost completely with local people. I am here here to observe and as an extra pair of hands. Once in a while I have an idea that they take into consideration. I help with translations, computers, driving, and other odd things. I am here to work for them. As is the Peace corp.

I know of one man who works with me. He is with the Peace corp and his name is Leo and he only speaks Spanish when around other spanish speaking people. He is an enginger but only talks when he is spoken too. There is about 8 Americans involved with the Peace corp here. We are not introducing organic practices, we are just helping them with things they all ready know. We all are here to serve the people and to make life easier. I think that they appreciate us greatly.

For the last week, I have been assiting the peace corp in their efforts. We are currently working with about 25 families in Entreadero. Coffe production has been going very well. We have been experimenting with a new variety and it is going very well. The Coffea Aribiga or Catura seed is very strong, both in cafine and health. The plants are happy, and I will post some more photos of them soon.

Tomorrow, I will be constructing another wood burning stove. I imagine that it will be another wonderful experience. I want to once again thank everyone that have helped to make this possible for me. Also, thank you Kurt, from Sowal for posting all of my blogs. Very cool and you have made it easier for me to keep writing.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.481s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb