travel day!!!!


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was travel day. 10:15am flight from Atlanta to Guatemala City...three hours. Was lucky to get out on time with the tornadoes tracking from the west. The school had suggested someone meet me inlieu of a taxi and in hindsight that was great. You think Delta USA is amuck, Guatemala a lost cause. No working conveyence for the baggage and everyone just jumps in to grab their bag as all are in a hurry. I didn´t follow my instructions to my daughters over the year...concept of first on is last off, and paid for getting to Hartsfield early...yep, my bags were last.

Anyway I did get to the bus station on time for the scheduled departure. Caitlin will appreciate that it had a toilet. Seemed like a four hour roller coaster ride, surprised the bus did not roll over on some of the turns. No real chance to sleep as our bus driver seemed to be sendinf morse code messages to all the busses on the road the entire way.

Caitlin gave us a book on the Guatemalan revolution, written by a guy from Harvard in the middle 90´s. What a fascinating way to experience the country, reading about all of the politics. One of Libardo´s uncles is a main resource in the book, a pseudonym was used.

Got to Xela about 7:30pm. Had been told that I could call for my ride to the homestay from the bus terminal, but we seemed to have arrived in the middle of nowhere in the City, noone spoke english, and the bus driver proceeded to throw all the trash in the bus out the window onto the street and took off. There was a guy from Australia that was instant n striking off on foot, so I flagged down a car to borrow a cell phone. I got picked up and dropped off at my homestay for the night. Luckily the father and son and the mother and daughter have the same names, so it helps. A shower sounded good, but with a trickle of water and what looked like a sure fire way to get electricuted, I took my chances and heeded to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd March 2007

WOW!
We are snowed in in Iowa. Looks like you have quite an adventure going on there! Jonah thinks your pictures are "sweet"! We look forward to your next entry! Love the Ben Berbs
3rd March 2007

Hello Bro
Glad to hear you got down there safely. I'll miss seeing you this weekend. Can't wait till you get back and we get the kayaks out in warm weather. Would really like to spend some time bass fishing with you this spring too. Thinking of you Bro Matt

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb