Family


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I spent yesterday and today catching up with some relatives out here. Yesterday I saw mum's cousin Michelle and her little baby Nathaniel. I just went to her house for lunch, and we watched TV and chatted all afternoon. Nathaniel is super cute but refuses to eat or sleep. He just likes being held and talked to all day long.

Today I met with Auntie Marcia and Monica for lunch. I got on a local bus for the first time. Which is interesting. They are 15 seater minibuses that just drive a bit crazily. There are bus stops, but they also just pick you up and drop you off wherever if someone waves them down. They're cheap though.

We went to a lovely restaurant for lunch where I had mahi-mahi, which they call dolphin here. But it's a fish, not an actual dolphin. It was really nice to meet my aunts and chat with them. Marcia owns a farm down south in the countryside with horses, sheep, ducks and she breeds rabbits (for food, not pets). She also does loads of charity work for local underprivileged children. Monica lives in Rodney bay by the beaches and shops and does admin for the institute of chartered accountants. I knew they were younger than Nana, but I didn't realise by how much. I mean Monica is younger than my dad. But they were both really nice, and told me a bit about their childhood. Every morning the family went to the beach to collect sea moss (some sort of algae that you make drinks from) for breakfast, and then bathed in the sea. Although no one could swim, so they could only bathe in the shallow and ended up very sandy. Because of this, Marcia hates the beach and has not been in the sea for a good twenty years, but Monica loves the beach and goes after work fairly often.



Monica has promised to take me to the beach more often, and Marcia has invited me to come down to hers one weekend whilst I'm here to see the farm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb