Continuing My Dive Training . . .


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I was meant to again do more diving. I was good the night before - went to the crew bar for only gingerale, went to sleep at a moderately decent hour, set the alarm to get up early . . . except I made the classic AM/PM mess-up with the alarm, so I woke up an hour late, having missed the free shuttle to the beach. I rushed around, got in a taxi and headed out to Coki Beach. When I arrived, I learned that Jay (my instructor) left a message with Shore Excursions that he’s sick and can’t dive, except obviously I hadn’t gotten the message . . . thankfully, another instructor, Ed, was willing to help out and I still got to go through my confined water skills today.

Now, back at the ship, I am completely waterlogged and drained. I still get so nervous diving. I struggled a bit at first with my weights and getting proper buoyancy, though I think I’m starting to get the hang of it now. I’m figuring out how to use my lungs and not just rely on the equipment.

One of the skills - taking off my mask - was really scary. Not being able to see, feeling the water in my nose. It sounds so silly, but I just got panicked when things felt so different. Later, when I had to swim without the mask, I was so scared to do it. But I did and as I was swimming along, figured out how it feels and that I’m still okay. Again, I felt so proud afterwards to pushing through that fear.

The craziest thing I did today was the skill of breathing through a free-flowing regulator - when the air just gushes out non-stop. You hold it by your mouth and suck the air through the gushing bubbles. They compare it to sipping water from a drinking fountain, except it’s the reverse, you’re sucking air through water. It feels like it just shouldn’t be possible, with all the water and just these constant bubbles. Yet there you are, managing to fill your lungs by sucking at bubbles. Wild.

Next week I’ll be back again, to do the rest of my open water dives. Do all the skills again, except in deep water, and then we’ll just dive around.

It is so hard tearing myself out of bed and off the ship so early in the morning, especially after work and being up late. I don’t like missing out on any of the good stuff on the ship and port times and social life don’t usually line up. But I’m always so happy afterwards. And I know when I’m finished this course I’ll be proud of myself.

It’s just getting up and out there.

Advertisement



8th February 2008

Where are the underwater pictures?!!
The title says it all - where are your underwater pictures? Too hard to take while learning? I understand - I just want to see coral, and fish, and well...you get the point. I need to live vicariously through you!!
9th February 2008

So proud of you Netter!
Removing the mask is the one that freaks everyone out. BUT YOU DID IT! The bubbles thing is weird. Oh how happy I am to be reading your blog and being reminded of when I did my training. So hard to describe to anyone who hasn't done it. I can promise you that clearing your mask is one skill that you will use at least once on every dive. It's a good one to master... not that your mask floods often, but to relieve pressure, etc. Scary thing but SO rewarding! Can't wait to have another dive friend!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb