Running with the big dogs


Advertisement
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well well, don't mess with hurricanes. Yesterday was a little crazy. We saw two water spouts= tornados in the sky over the water but not actually touching the water. We were getting into boats to go snorkelling in the rain when suddenly lightening/thunder/water spouts struck! It was intense. We then proceeded to take more rain showers which is so nice. I have only used 1 of my weekly freshwater showers since I arrived and I don't feel dirty at all. Its amazing.

I SAW A TURTLE TODAY! It was incredible but swam away quickly. He was so small and cute, we think he was a green turtle. But the rest of snorkelling today sucked. It was extremely choppy, the hurricanes and tropical storms out on the open ocean are messing with our currents. I was exhausted. Of course thats when this qiant baraccuda decided to follow my buddy and I for a long time. We may have freaked out a little. Usually, they aren't a big deal. If you swim at them, they will go away however this little ... jerk... wasn't going away! So we swam for our lives against the current until we reached the boat. It was a little stressfull and I was totally exhausted. Of course, after sitting on the boat in the intense waves I got a little nauseated. Even so, all was well and I saw a turtle which clearly means it can't be a bad day.

My fish ID memorization is coming along. It's slow but I now have until saturday to get it all down so I'm confident I can do it.

Mamma/Missy/Fluffy/Maggie this black pregnant dog that lives at a house across the street had her puppies this morning. There are six and they are soooo cute and small. They still have their umbilical chords and eyes closed. I want them!!

I was supposed to go to the primary school to teach 2nd grade art but apparently they got out early and now I have nothing to do but study which obviously means I'll be hiding in the computer room not studying for a while.

I went to the everything building today. Its this house that has the post office/bmv/bank/customs etc inside. It took an hour of waiting in line next to the men with machine guns before I was able to exchange my big bills for smaller usable bills which naturally took about 30 seconds. I'm gald I went though. It's only open on wednesday from 11-2. SO EXHAUSTING.

This morning was the first morning that I over slept. My roommate Emily finally woke me up about a minute before morning meeting. I was then awake for almost 10 minutes before returning to bed for a couple more hourse of shut-eye.

Sunday I went to the hotel and watched the Colts game. It was nice to watch them stomp the Giants while watching with some Giants fans. I even ate Conch which is the first seafood I've consumed ( not including trickery... you know who you are) in a number of years. I loved it, but it was fried. I didn't have the balls to eat the stew. It looked too much like a giant gastropod. I just couldn't do it. Sorry.

Currently I'm looking at hotels on Provo. I can not wait for the midterm break. HEY DAD!

oh wait... I HATE MOSQUITOS/SAND FLEAS. I really just needed to get that off my chest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb