In memory of


Advertisement
Published: October 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

<em style="font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif;">Everyday as a little girl my parents would take the same route to drop me to school; over the Lady Young road, around the Savannah and down Victoria Avenue. Just before we would hit Frederick street I would see a great big park on my left with towering trees and freshly cut green grass and wonder to myself "Why couldn't we stop there and play?"




After almost 18 years of wondering I have finally got my answer; the grounds of the Memorial park were to be paid tribute to and not trampled on.



Situated in what could be seen as the recreational centre of Port of Spain, the Memorial park is truly a sight to see. With the great big trees that I remember from my childhood and green grass that looks like something out of a painting, the Memorial Park is as beautiful as it is peaceful. A great contrast to the hustle and bustle that takes place on the roadways surrounding the park; it is truly a sanctuary in our chaotic everyday lives. A historical monument with cultural and spiritual significance.




<em style="font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif;">The Cenotaph (empty tomb) serves as a constant reminder to everyone around that our right to freedom though free, needs to be defended at times. Adorned with statues of what may be Guardian angels scraping the sky and well crafted soldiers up in arms, this location is truly an artistic wonder and a must see destination.

<em style="font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif;">








Follow my journey at:

http://www.facebook.com/TriniTravelGuide?fref=ts

http://www.youtube.com/user/VergeMarketingAgency?feature=mhee

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb