Day 2


Advertisement
Published: January 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

RefuelingRefuelingRefueling

Captain Lewis and Simon oversee the transfer of fuel and water.
Greetings from Bequia,
I was dead tired last night, so I hit the sack at 9:00 and didn't get up til 7:00am. I started the day off with a 1 mile swim. Then it was on the boat to get fuel and water. I had shown Alan my list of things that I noticed the boat needed to make it better. And just as I thought, he said "that looks great--make it so". So it looks like I have created some work for myself.

After noon I set out on a serious walk about. Alan had three For Sale signs he wanted placed on properties around the island. One was at a new area under development called Friendship Hieghts- and rightly named. It was a seriously steep climb to the top. Some sections were so steep I could barely walk up them. From Friendship I had to walk all the way back to town them out again to Spring Top. It was a toss up as to which was steeper-spring top or friendship hieghts. By the time the day was over I'm sure I had hiked/walked at least 10 miles.
I had blood on the back of my sneakers from
Admiralty BayAdmiralty BayAdmiralty Bay

Just another beautiful view.
the blisters on my feet.

When I arrived back home James and Simon were just heading out for a swim and invited me to join them. I thought we were just going to walk down to the dock and take a dip, but they wanted to drive over to Lower Bay. We picked up Sarah on the way and made the whinding drive to Low Bay. The water was cool and refreshing, but it didn't take long for me to feel chilled. The sun was nearing the horizon, so we headed back for the house.

James (the chef) is cooking up some stir fry for dinner. I'm starving! All I've eaten today is two of the Gingerbread's famous shortbread cookies. One at 8:00 and one at 2:00. I'm pretty sure I burned those off on just one of the climbs this afternoon. The climbs are hard, but the views are worth it. The pictures don't come close to the real thing. But I hope you enjoy them.

I feel another long nights sleep coming on right after dinner. Thank you all for following my travels and feel free to email me with any comments or news from
Self portraitSelf portraitSelf portrait

Traveling alone has its setbacks
back home.
Ya Mon, Bequia,
David


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Friendship BayFriendship Bay
Friendship Bay

The small island in the center is Semples Cay, where the whale is cleaned if they have a successful hunt.
Spring baySpring bay
Spring bay

One of my favorite spots on the island


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb