Bequia Day 1, Jan 21,2019


Advertisement
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mornin', Mornin',
Sunrise on Day 1 on Bequia. I arrived last evening only about 10 minutes behind schedule--pretty good for "island time". My plane from Miami sat at the gate for an hour before we could take off. Some sort of mechanical. It was a good thing I had extra time to transfer in Barbados. We flew from Barbados to Union island before heading to Bequia. That flight took us right over the Tobago Cays, which was beautiful. I can't wait to get down there on the Rose on Sunday.
Sarah, Alan's niece met me at the airport and the ride accross the island was all too familiar. Everything looked just as I left it a year and a half ago. I'm staying at Alan's house with him and Simon, his nephew, and James, Simon's freind from the UK. I'm having to re-train my mind to work in Celcius, Kilometers and such. Living with three Brits is fun and interesting. I've already been able to put myself to use by fixing the toilet that was running all the time.
I didn't sleep too well last night. It was warm and sticky even with the fan on high. But since I got an early start on the bed, I still feel rested today. I was up at 6:30 for a 20 minute swim between the docks of the Frangipani and the Gingerbread. I'm guessing it was around 500 meters.
Alan is out on the porch right now talking to Capt. Lewis about the crew . I think my task today is to board the "Rose" and critique everything I see. Alan wants the opinion of a fresh eye to see what they could do to make her look better. He says he wants me to be brutally honest and not to pull any punches. Later in the morning Simon, Capt. Lewis, and I are taking her up to refuel with diesel and water.


Advertisement



21st January 2010

Glad you got there safe and are doing well. But when you get time....... more pictures!!!!!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb