DAY 22--AUG. 19


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Bequia,


This morning I ran barefoot in the packed sand and surf on Friendship beach. I paced the beach off and judging by my time its a half mile from end to end. So back and forth and back and forth a few times and I had in four miles. Then I just fall in the water to cool down. It doesn't get much better than this.

Mid morning we get some much needed rain. Admiralty bay is glassy slick while the rain falls down. After about an hour, the rain has stopped but its still cloudy and breezy. Alethea and Kim (from the villa/ship office) are heading out to lunch and invite me to come along.

They take me to a back street hole-in-the wall diner visited only by the locals. There I meet Auntie Pearl, who is really Alethea's cousin. I have a wonderful lunch of baked chicken, potato salad, macaroni salad, and some fried spinach. I wash it all down with the most delicious grapefruit drink that is Auntie Pearl's special mixture.

After lunch I wonder into town to pick up some last minute souvenirs, then its down to the Gingerbread for my daily shortbread cookie.

On my way back to my house in the evening, I'm greeted by Cocoa about a half a mile from home. I haven't seen him in days, but he comes running to my side when he spots me. He follows me all the way home and up the "Driveway of Death". I close the gate behind me and tell Cocoa to go home.

About 5 minutes later I look out and see Cocoa sitting on my balcony. He must have gone up the hill behind the house and back down again. He lays on my balcony for a couple of hours, then I look up and he is gone.

Dinner and some Olympics then its off to bed. The last couple of nights the mosquitoes have been especially bad to me. That's one thing about Bequia I won't miss.

Yah mon,
David


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

the Almond Treethe Almond Tree
the Almond Tree

Port Elizabeth's gathering place
CocoaCocoa
Cocoa

I'm not sure who has adopted who.


20th August 2008

Cocoa
Oh man...you should have let Cocoa in to visit for a while. The ladies in the picture look like they would be fun to be friends with. I think the native people are going to miss you as much as you miss them. Have a safe trip home.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb