The White Girl


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

23rd June 2009

loved your post
Hey Lishai! Remember me? Your roomate from Leadershape! Anyways, glad to see you have embarked on yet another travel adventure! Loved reading your post too - it was entertaining and vivid! I will definitely stay tuned ;-))
23rd June 2009

Very interesting post...
That's all I have to say. You write very well, Ms. Lishai pie!
23rd June 2009

Hi Karina! Thank you for the kind words. Come pay me a visit and we can be roommates again!
2nd July 2009

Don't matter if you're...
Hey gay white girl, Interesting to hear you address my previous question about culture obliquely in this entry. Still curious about how your heritage has formed you--for example, when you say you don't identify as white, how does that change your outlook on things? As a white male, oppressor extreme, (Jewish, but therefore only an invisible minority, a plainclothes ethnic) I remember when I was in Taiwan, and had my white status thrust in my face on a constant basis. I was a visitor in their country, and they were hell-bent on treating me like a guest. It was a little embarrassing. I certainly didn't feel privileged or rich. I occasionally had conversations about my discomfort; the Taiwanese were surprised: don't you treat guests in a special way? It took me a few moments to realize that in Canada, it's impossible to tell the "guests" from the third- or fourth-generation Canadians. And as for the nose-ring, let me know about the verdict. It's always good to know the gender-preferences of your promised one. ; )
4th August 2009

Haha!
My nose ring is also on the right side - so I guess I'm gay too ; )

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb