Life’s a beach


Advertisement
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ramp of El MorroRamp of El MorroRamp of El Morro

Look at the framing scene of the Atlantic Ocean!
Hey all, my first time in the Caribbean is definitely a rewarding one. Starting off in the capital of Puerto Rico, Halef and I ventured the narrow street of Viejo San Juan to check out the typical touristy stuff, such as El Morro and San Cristobál fort, both are protected by the UNESCO. Our visit happened to be the best time of the year according to sanjuaneros, due to its biggest celebration of the year of Fiestas de la Calle San Sebastián, a drinking festival comparable to Mardi Gras in New Orleans, I’ve heard.

Then continuing on to the Spanish Virgin Island of Culebra, a 17 miles off the eastern coast of Puerto Rico. Now this was a relaxing one, as we spent most of our time on tropical beaches across the island. Quite a fancy trip.

Until later, signing off for now.

-Cy



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hard Rock CafeHard Rock Cafe
Hard Rock Cafe

Hey I've been here as well! Where's CY?
Calle de la San SebastianCalle de la San Sebastian
Calle de la San Sebastian

This is a big drinking festival in Old San Juan. Somewhat like a Mardi Gras with latino twist.
San Juan policemenSan Juan policemen
San Juan policemen

Am I partying too much? I promise I've been behaving very well, officers.
Viejo San JuanViejo San Juan
Viejo San Juan

Learning my way around the Old San Juan. Hey look what's above me.
El Morro lighthouseEl Morro lighthouse
El Morro lighthouse

Pfft, I have to take a rest before flying all the way up the El Morro structures.
La PerlaLa Perla
La Perla

I am contemplating on the scenic slum by the mighty Atlantic Ocean.
CannonballsCannonballs
Cannonballs

I'm resting on the top of cannonballs stack in El Morro, Old San Juan.
U.S. Marine tank in CulebraU.S. Marine tank in Culebra
U.S. Marine tank in Culebra

A reminder of Playa Flamenco's past as a U.S. Navy gunnery practice site.
Life's a beachLife's a beach
Life's a beach

I am trying to get some color other than cardinal red. Can I?
Emerald green?Emerald green?
Emerald green?

Is this emerald green? Or turquois blue?
MedallaMedalla
Medalla

The official beer of Puerto Rico.
RAH! RAH! RAH!RAH! RAH! RAH!
RAH! RAH! RAH!

Love these fresh sand of Culebra where you can write your name and stuff.


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb