Rental Car Saga!


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday March 2, 2011

(Skip) When we first started writing about our travels in Panama we mentioned the difficult time we experienced with the rental car folks at the airport. I believe sufficient time has passed between our unfortunate experience at the airport, for there to be an objective evaluation of where we are at this point with this rental Company. The Rental company's home page is: http://www.europcar.com/

When I arrived at the Europcar rental desk, the first problem I encountered was no reservation for the vehicle. After arguing for several minutes and showing my printed confirmation from the website they agreed that I did indeed have a reservation. The second discussion centered around third party insurance. I finally agreed and the tab was $13 per day.(see below explanation) The third
disparity occurred when I was told the vehicle did not have a GPS and one would not be furnished. I pointed out my confirming email showed a vehicle with a GPS would be ready at my arrival. (At this point the vehicle was delivered to the airport from their downtown city office.) We were still arguing about whether I would take the car or go to another rental agency. To give everyone a breather I went out to the vehicle and looked it over. I immediately discovered the gas gauge was resting on empty.

Upon returning to the rental desk we once again started the discussion about the GPS I had already paid for prior to arriving in Panama. I brought up the fact an empty gas tank was totally unacceptable. The girl with her supervisor standing nearby by this time said they could supply a GPS but my cost would be $12 per day (the contract we agreed to online was $2 a day). After much face to face discussion they agreed to put gas in the tank and have a young man drive the vehicle to their downtown rental office to pick up a GPS. I signed the rental agreement and left with Barb for our ride to downtown Panama city. The gas tank was filled to a little less than ½ full.

I definitely was off my normal way of doing business for many reasons; tired, not understanding broken English and was just beaten down from the constant arguing over something that was supposed to be a done deal. Plus the attendant kept rushing us to get out to the car which was parked right outside the doors with traffic going around it. Not the normal car rental situation.

After a few days I started to rethink the entire encounter with this rental company, Europcar. I started to replay the tape in my head of all the events that took place with this rental company. The first thing that came to mind was that I had already paid for the basic rental prior to leaving the US; therefore the rental vehicle charge at the airport was a double charge. The portion relating to the third party liability was a new charge. After this unsettling revelation I decided to review the rental contract. Further surprises (1) gas tank checked as full (2) turn in time changed from what the printed reservation indicated.

At this time I decided to give the vehicle a check over (should have done this at the airport) I found the following: (1) battery missing 1 filler cap and water level was very, very low, in fact the battery plates were all showing (2) right front tire was completely bald (3) left front tire mostly bald with a portion showing 1/16 tread (4) both rear tires showed around 1/16 tread. (5) Fan belt smooth (6) no water reservoir for washing car front window (7) clutch will produce a burning smell when starting in first gear unless the emergency break is applied to help the car start moving.

So they have not only compromised our safety....they limited our traveling on class A paved roads...which is sad because there were a lot of secondary roads we would have liked to venture on.

I have now been driving this vehicle for 15 days and have constantly checked the battery for leaks, water level has not changed.

My conclusion concerning how this company works it's operation is as follows:
(1) Gas tanks are checked full on the rental contract assuming most people will miss this small item and then ding them for filling upon return. (actually after doing more research on the web this is exactly what the complaint has been, time and time again).

(2) No disclaimers are given when a rental is made over the web concerning third party liability in Panama. In fact I have had the occasion to speak while on this trip to 3 other couples who were not subject to this requirement. One couple rental at the airport and the other two rented outside of Panama city.

(3) The return time on the contract was changed without my knowledge, more than likely just to increase partial per diem for the day.

(4)This fourth item is really the most important and most serious for Barb and I as travelers in a foreign country and this is maintenance. It is my belief their maintenance is accomplished by letting the vehicle break down and sticking the bill to either the collision insurance or badgering the renters until they give up on collecting. Please bear in mind left front tire is bald and right front has perhaps 1/16th tread left with replacement tire indicators showing!!!! And both rear tires had approximately1/16th+ tread left with intermittent bald spots around the tire. Maintaining a speed of much more than 80km was virtually impossible because of the shaking of the front tires and front end of the car.

Warning: Under no circumstances should this rental company be used, ever!! Do your own research on the web and take what is said by other folks as serious, because based on my one time experience with this company you could be DEAD because of how they run their operation.

For me this nightmare has not ended because I am several days before the car is to be returned. If I should be lucky enough to return this car without any further problems I will believe in miracles. I will post a final update once the car has been returned.
Until then, here are some pictures for you to ponder: https://picasaweb.google.com/Groveridgehome/RentalCar?authkey=Gv1sRgCMX3hZ3rpubblwE#

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb