Guatemala via the milk run


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

As i checked in this morning i was greeted with "Good morning. Just to let you the flight has been overbooked." Visions of being dragged off the flight "a la United" flashed before me
"We're looking for volunteers to go tomorrow" That elicited a firm "No" from me.
When seated on the plane the two beside me said they were offered $400. I was offered nothing.
The flight from Toronto to Panama left on time and no one was forcibly removed to make room for wayward passengers.
Except for a few turbulent moments the flight was smooth, but I am thankful I decided to have a small bite to eat at the airport (with the prerequisite large price tag) as food service didn't happen until 1/2 way though the 5 hour flight. A tasty concoction of stuffed ravioli and an ounce or two of chicken with a bread roll ready to be used for cannon shot and a cookie for dessert. The side of coleslaw was by far the best.
I tried chatting with the 2 beside me. Cousins...one male one female. She knew Spanish. He was along to protect her. They were off to Sourh America for a month. I napped, I read, I watched "Trumbo". I napped a bit more. 5 hours later we landed with a thump, but all in all not bad.
My layover is 4+hours so it isn't on the board when I check.
I find a quiet corner and connect. Read. Wander.
I check for flight 391 to Guatemala...nada
Wander, read connect. Check at the courtesy desk.
391 goes to San Jose for 30 minutes then to Guatemala. Leaves at Gate 11.
Reading at Gate 11 and I am totally amazed I understood this announcement...in rapid Spanish no less, "The flight to San Jose onward to Guatemala is now leaving from Gate 25A"
I wander some more, double check at the courtesy desk to double check....I was right!!!! Thanks to my tutor Lara I understand more than I realize.
The flight to San Jose is 1 hour. A good flight with food and drink. About 6 pieces of penne in a salad, a slice of salami("1 thin enough to guarantee your in-laws will never come back"- gotta love 80s ginsu commercials) a roll( one soft enough to crack your tooth but not break it) and some cheese. Washed down with vino tinto!
30 minutes in San Jose, refilled and we're off.
Another light snack, a sort of chicken mini poker, by far the most tasty of all the food today on Copa airlines.
I have re-read the instructions from my hotel 5 times. I think I'm looking for Josh in front of the Cafe outside the exit of the arrivals area. He could be holding a sign.
So immigration is a snap and I'm allowed in the country!?
I look for Josh. Am offered various modes of transport but I make my way to the Cafe as instructed. I wait 10 minutes a car pulls up and the driver waves. He gets out. "Darren?"...phew a good sign, although not handwritten...the quality of arriving in a country is on the decline I see!
"Josh!?" We're off....15 minutes later and I'm in my room peeling off the day's travels.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb