You don't come to Panama without seeing the canal


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey, it's been awhile, sorry. So I noticed on this site that most all the blogs on Panama are about Bocas Del Toro... where I currently am, but I am happy to report that I've also seen many other places in Panama. Starting with Panama City. I stayed longer than I should have here, nearly a week. I was struck by how big the city is! It's really, really big. There are skyscrapers! I don't think I've seen a building over 4 stories high in a year now! I felt like a little kid admiring all the big buildings. It actually felt kind of nice to be in a big city, complete with Fridays and Hooters! I explored all the little areas, went to the fish market, (nicest fish market I've even been in) and ate scallop civiche!! SO GOOD!! Who knew. And of course saw the canal and a ship passing through the locks, which one old Brit commented, was about as exciting as watching grass grow... I think maybe watching grass grow is a bit more exciting! But it still was interesting, and hey, you gotta see the canal while here, so... There was also a really nice museum there. From the Locks I went to a botanical gardens/zoo and walked around a bit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb