Tight fit!


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

No, not punk...No, not punk...No, not punk...

What say ye, let it grow or off with it?
Oioi,
I'll start by telling what I will be doing in the coming week.
I will be travelling to Colombia by pampampam ;p boat, a sailboat to be precise.
The trip will start somewhere in the area of Colon, Panama.
After setting sail we will be island hopping the San Blas islands for 3days(google San Blas if U want to see some really nice pictures 😉 ) after which we will travel trough open sea to northern Colombia where we will sack the city of Cartagena ye-arrrr(this still needs to be discussed with the captain though, alternatively we might just dock instead in a peaceful manner..).
And then from there I will make my way down to Ecuador etc...

Kay, Panama City.
Obviously when visiting this area one has to check out … aye, the canal.
For those who don't know, Panama city is located at the Pacific entrance to the Canal and so from the city you can easily do a little trip to the locks where they lift and lower the ships between sea- and canal-level.
The locks themselves are cool enough but not in a way that they leave a permanent impression on you, however, while I was there a panamax was passing trough.
Panamax is a type of ship designed specially to the maximum capacity of the canal.
So this was a fully loaded container ship of 290meters long, 12m deep and 32,3m wide in a lock which was 33,5m wide.
Which meant that at each side they had 60cm space to manoeuvre...
The visit to the canal was cool as a result.

Besides some other small trips I didn't do a whole lot, partially due to the tropical climate I guess, chillin and doing nothing is just so tempting …

I did decide to add Uruguay to my trip too as I have heard the steak there is even better than in Argentina, so it should make a good final stopover on my trip 😉

Cheers,
P.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



13th June 2011

Is fatigue and improvisation taking over a bit ? Or are the high temperatues spoiling your plans ?
I am sitting behind my computer living in a virtual world, whereas you are facing the real world. Perhaps you are making a pause, a stop in order to create some time for reflection ? There are indeed so many options and it isn't "always" easy to make the best possible choices. Let's not forget that there are so many things to see and after all , time is running out. I fully appreciate how difficult it must be to go for the real thing. Are you still to sort out a few options ? And are you therefore gaining time? Perhaps all this stuff is manageable and is the real problem the tropical climate. I don't exactly know how high the temperatures rise these days ?Extremely high, I suppose? About the seasons ? Is it winter time in Central America? And if so, it's difficult to believe that the temperatures still can go up so high? This week you are going to board a sailing boat for a trip which will last a couple of days. Hopefully this will cause some refreshment. Thereafer you will be heading to Uruguay... longing after the best of steaks. But you are kidding, I suppose? There must certainly be other reasons to visit Uruguay? About your beard and long hair. It's upto you to decide but in my humble opinion it doesn't really matter, and I am now going to be a little selfish, if it doesn't harm your zeal to rejoice us with your regular reports. Sometimes these reports suggest many things but afterwards we don't hear anything further about expressed intentions. In my foregoing posting I referred to looking behind the curtain, but as far as I can see, that curtain remains firmly closed, and last but not least: making plans which work is like going to Ikea, buy yourself a package of accessories, of which you are to make one piece of a furniture. Not easy, as we all will agree.
14th June 2011

comments
Hola Pedro, Wondering how you are gonna survive that trip on your pampampam on a very wild sea i hope you let us know soon your arrival in colombia. I hope your piratesskill helps you to to feed the fishes not to much... Some people ask me why there are so less comments; some other people are afraid to write a comment in the english language and they think you wont publish it when it is written in dutch. Someone was also afraid that you wont like it because she doesnt know you really. I told her that all comments are welcome. Meanwhile i enjoy your entrys as much as the comments of other people (and i am sure i am not the only one! About your hear: you dont need the support or opinion from anyone, you can easily make your own decision, i think. Big hug, Sabine and papa
19th June 2011

Ye arroff course I pulled trough just fine as the blood of pirates courses trough my veins ;) Well that's just silly ;) off course I welcome any comments from anyone regardless from wetter I know them or not, or in which language they wish to write. I even enjoy reading and replying to comments, so the more the better ;)
19th June 2011

Helloo, well no, I didn't really pause in panama, the weather was just not of the type that invites to be very active. It wasn't very hot(roughly 33celcius) but it was very humid, which meant sweating from the moment the sun came up till about 2am when it cooled down(relatively though, it was still quite warm a night) Uruguay is probably the last country on my trip, so its still some time away. And no, I am actually not kidding, the main reason for me going to Uruguay is that, as I have heard, they serve the best steak in the world. I was told it is considered a national insult to serve a steak that does not melt in the mount like a piece of icecream does on a hot summer-day. And I am not sure what you mean when u say that I suggest doing things and afterwards dont actually do them, maybe if you are more specific ;o … And well, what goes on behind the curtain is at times as much as a mystery to me as it is to you ;) Cheers, P.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb