A Circumnavigation of the World by Sailboat


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Circumnavigation!


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Quickenning on the Move.. to Panama! 6 secs
Circumnavigation Complete!Circumnavigation Complete!Circumnavigation Complete!

Vive les stinky feet!
I have disturbed the lives of one million flying fish;
I have witnessed - and often instigated - the wanton destruction of sailboat parts;
I have eaten badly and accumulated so many stomach bugs that they cancel eachother out;
But now, I am drinking champagne and toasting these sins because
I have sailed around the world!


There. I said it. After 360 degrees of longitude and 25,000 nautical miles of ocean, I can finally abuse that last line as often as I like until it seems a mere cliché! But I promise not to; this accomplishment is not something to wear on my sleeve, rather to carry in my back pocket for those days when the challenges of life seem insurmountable.

As stated in my previous entry, I want to thank everyone who has followed along through the blog and sent encouraging e-mails over the last 16 months. I would like to dedicate the completion of this adventure in particular to my parents; to my mother for her lasting and loving support, and to my father, who I sense dreamed of sailing across oceans and around distant capes.

Since the adventure was made possible by the support of
New Drink Recipe: The Circumnavigator!New Drink Recipe: The Circumnavigator!New Drink Recipe: The Circumnavigator!

Pour champagne into stainless steel mug, add flying fish, stir and enjoy!
family and friends, here are a couple of thoughts from the nightwatch:

Our parents give us so much of their lives so that we may accomplish our dreams. Will we provide our own children with enough tools and confidence to follow their own path in life?

Our friends hold the power to strengthen or damage us, and they are equally at our whim. Will we use this power to dominate our peers? Will we overcome our natural instincts of insecurity and jealousy to encourage one another to succeed or just be themselves?


I have been incredibly lucky to have supportive family and positive friends, particularily during a time in my life when I can't easily return the favour. Thanks for responding to e-mails (even though it's easier not to), listening to my latest calamities, saying nice things out of the blue (I don't do that enough myself) or just writing to say, "hey, I was walking home in the snow and thought about you - where in the world are you now and when will you be home?" Current answer is "Panama Canal, and then Toronto in a week".

Anyway, now time for the bad news.. another adventure lies ahead! Remember how you said I should visit sometime? I might hold you to your promise of a couch to crash on and bowl of oatmeal for breakfast! More news on that coming this summer..

See you soon,
Busco Gusto!

Clive

Photos c/o yours truly and Sandrine I.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Fresh tastes best!Fresh tastes best!
Fresh tastes best!

A shark ate it as I was reeling it in, but left us enough for dinner.
ParadisoParadiso
Paradiso

I still haven't bought a hammock for some unknown reason..
The Old KunayalaThe Old Kunayala
The Old Kunayala

Chichime Cays, San Blas Islands, Panama
The New KunayalaThe New Kunayala
The New Kunayala

Obviously, we are paying too much for our molas..
The Quickenning TeamThe Quickenning Team
The Quickenning Team

Sandrine and Laurent
Mola Madness all over again!Mola Madness all over again!
Mola Madness all over again!

Yes, I admit I'm back on the junk. Give me Molaphine!
Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure: The NovelBill and Ted's Excellent Adventure: The Novel
Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure: The Novel

Surprisingly far more eloquent than the film! I say, it was rather bodacious!


27th April 2009

Congrats!
Congratulations!! Thank you for sharing your exciting adventures with all of us! You are a true inspiration for many of us and I hope we cross paths in the near future so we can catch up and I can hear more about your trip around the world! Congrats once again! Love your photos and stories, keep in touch always!! :) Take care and safe travels back to Canada!!
27th April 2009

Hoorah!
Congratulations , Clive, This goes to show that we can do what we íntend to do, and should always trust...... I am an Ayahuasca Initiate now, had a beautiful, wondrous , and indescribable time a t Don Lucho´s camp in the jungle , near Iquitos. i´m still here......... much love and congrats! Christine
27th April 2009

Well done!!
See title....
27th April 2009

Dude, you have big feet!!!!!!
Congrats on a journey complete - as a reader and observer of your adventure, I have learned about the world, our friends within it, and what it takes to sail around it. You have probably heard it a billion times, but there are so many people out there who would love to do what you did, but feel they are unable to, or feel they can't. You allow people to rethink the word "can't" or "unable" , and push us to all live and aspire to our wildest dreams....whether it be reading a classic that you've always wanted to, travelling, meditating more, or just being a better person - your drive and motivation is admirable and courgeous. So, cheers to your journey and success, we will have a drink to celebrate when you arrive next week. Now, get your ass home!
27th April 2009

I cannot believe you have yet to purchase a hammock... ha ha! And what a story those gloves could tell! I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed reading your blogs and following you on your journey. Thanks for sharing it with us all along the way. Congrats on a dream come true!
27th April 2009

Excellent
I have numerous questions that I'll send your way - for now - congrats - enjoy the accomplishment and thanks again for sharing! It has been so fun following you along this trip S
28th April 2009

adventure
Great adventure you had. Congratulations!
28th April 2009

way to go hobo!
perhaps you should change the title of your article to: "How to be a Circumnavigational Sailboat Hobo." well done, busco! -armistice
28th April 2009

Well done :)
Congrats on triumph around the globe, fantastic. Whats next ?
28th April 2009

The next adventure?
This will all be announced soon.... :)
28th April 2009

WOW!
Thanks for all the great comments everyone!! Clive
28th April 2009

Congrats
A source of inspiration and imagination! Congrats oceanic nomad!
28th April 2009

alas no more boobies
It is now a sad end to this cruise for boobies, man....you really do go out of your way to please....Thanks for all the great pics and stories. It was really great to feel like we were on this trip with you on the sand and sea. D.
29th April 2009

Congrats!
Really sweet of you to think of your folks and thank them for your successful journey!
30th April 2009

Congratulations
Thanks for sharing your trip with everyone -- you have made our lives richer vicariously. Glad to see you have completed the journey successfully.
3rd May 2009

Welcome back
Well I must say, job well done. I'll probably see you around christmas. I'll take some pics too, I'm sure they won't be as appealing though. From the afghan desert, so long.
7th May 2009

Congratulations !
A truly inspiring journey you had ! .... cheers ! Jo
11th November 2010
The Quickenning Team

Ports of call
Were you anchored in Whangarei today - 11 Nov 2010?
24th March 2011

Whangarei
Hi There. Thanks for your question. I finished the trip in April 2009... did you see the orange boat, "Quickenning" that was in my last blog entry? I crewed on that boat for my final stretch but left in Panama. I would be curious to hear where Quickenning is now sailing and if she's still owned by the same French couple. Cheers

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb