the mountain


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » David
February 22nd 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Now I´m at Lost & Found Eco Hostel in the La Fortuna Reserve. I´ve started toing the check in reservations so I´m sure I´ll have all theirinfor memorized soon. Lost & Found is a little too slow for me to stay at forever, but for now it is great. It is an Eco-hostel on the side of the mountain. I´ve been pulling weeds, and checking people in and out. The hiking is great, except when it is to the bathroom. I don´t like going several hundred feet to the toilet. Rocky the rescued kinkajou is AMAZING. I sleep in the dorms with some of the other guests and volunteers. It is not your average dorm room. You walk in and there are 3 layers with a total of 15 beds. They form a U shape. Volunteers generally get the top bunks because noone wnats to pay to stay up there. The mattress is pretty thin so I can sometimes feel the wood, but I´m in a corner so it is nice and dark, just how I like to sleep. Volunteers have the option to cook and make a little money for living expenses. I´m going to try to make lasagna tomorrow. Up to 20 people cna sign up, I don´t think htey have pans big enough to make that much lasagna... Any suggestions for good, cheap, easy vegetarian food, I can make for large groups of people? Something people would be willing to eat? I was thinking pizza, but there is only one cookie sheet. Orla, and I have been making meals together. She loves to clean and doesn´t cook much so I cook and she cleans. The arrangement makes us both quite happy.

I don´t know how long I´m going to stay at Lost and found, or what else to say. I´ll probably be back on in about a week. Let me know what you want to know. I can get on the internet when I go into David ( a city) to get groceries. Some food is supplied but it is nice to have a larger variety, plus I need lots of stuff to cook for lots of people.

Advertisement



25th February 2010

cooking
Hi Laura, Everything sounds great. See how easy it is to meet people? Cooking suggestion. Fattatta. Eggs,cheese,potatoes,and your favorite, onions and peppers (or whatever else you want to throw in). Eneryone here is fine. We continue to have absolutely nosnow and temps in the 40's. We have missed every snow storm.Emma went to Oberlin in Ohio and loved it. She is making it her first choice. It would be a perfect school for her. Very liberal, very artsy (has a wonderful music conseveratory). Keep your fingers crossed. Marcus is Marcus. We are all going to Flordia for spring break. I hope the weather is nice. Love to you and sorry about the spelling. It is genetic. Love Lynn
27th February 2010

food!
HUMMMMM! What ingredients can you get? What's locally available? What vegetables, sauces, spices, grains, alternative meat products? Will they let you buy some more pans? Can you make dough for breads and pizzas? I was thinking a lasagna with layers of tortillas instead of pasta, pasta salad, bean soups and bread, baked pasta with vegetables and cheese, calzones, kuggle(noodle pudding), baked potatoes with different toppings, shepards pie. I'll keep thinking! Ben passed his last test and has another one on Monday on OB/gyn. He's worked a lot with his mom. He did an all night 12 hour shift at Batfront Thursday and has another one tonight! We're designing our new kitchen. We're going for granite countertops. We actually go and pick out the slap they will be using. We're meeting with the cabinet people tomorrow. We're looking at fairly light wood. Hope everything comes together. Looking forward to a week off on the 8 - 13. lol mom

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb