Panama City - Las Lajas - David


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » David
February 12th 2006
Published: February 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Miraflores locks at the canalMiraflores locks at the canalMiraflores locks at the canal

Yep thats a big boat.
A week in Panama City was definately enough time. I did most of the touristy things to do there: The canal of course, The rainforest park on the edge of the city, casco antiguo - the oldest neighborhood, and so on. I watched the superbowl in the Marriot hotel´s sports bar. It was alot of fun even though the Seahawks lost. 6 other travellers and I drank heavily and got a bit rowdy. I´m liking being in Panama. There isn´t nearly as much english spoken hear as there is in Costa Rica, which is good because it forces me to learn. The Spanish is also a little different here. It´s much more slurred and the "s" is usually not pronounced. In Panama City I ended up hanging out with a Local girl named Ariza for a couple days who spoke less english than I speak spanish, which is a very little amount. I learned alot from that. And its very encouraging to know that I can carry on some sort of conversation if the other person is willing to try to figure out what I´m trying to say. I left the big city on tuesday. I was heading to Isla Boca Brava with some guys I met at the hostel. But on the bus to David into another guy I met in the city. He was going to Las Lajas, which I had heard about but didn´t have any information on. So I hopped off the bus with him at the closest town to Las Lajas. Las Lajas was at a comlpete contrast to the city. It´s pretty much a 10 km long deserted beach, aside from a few little beach hotels, a restaraunt, and a bar. We ended up staying at a place called Las Tres Palmeros. Which is a 3 km walk from where the road reaches the beach. There were only 2 other travellers staying there when we got there. BOTH FROM BELLINGHAM. Kenny and Karleen. They were really cool. The guy I went there with ended up being kind of an ass, but that´s how it goes sometimes when travelling with strangers. Luckily for me he´s heading in a different direction than I am. I pretty much just lounged in hammocks and swam in the surf for the last 4 days. Oh yeah, and drank alot of cold beers. The crew that works there was a lot of fun to hang out with. I now know every single vulgar word and phrase used in Panama. I caught a bus about 60 km yesterday to the city of David. Not a terribly exciting place but not bad either. Tommorrow I´m heading to Isla Boca Brava, Which is in a marine park with 200 or so uninhabitted islands. Boca Brava has 1 structure on it which is a hotel and restaraunt, with cheap rooms and food. Cheap in Panama standards is $3-8 a night and $2-4 a meal. I plan on spending a couple days there doing about the same as I did at Las Lajas and lots of snorkelling. I´ll be sure to take some pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Casco Antiguo 2Casco Antiguo 2
Casco Antiguo 2

What a few hundred years and a couple U.S. bombings will do to a building
CatapillerCatapiller
Catapiller

Nothing to special, but a good shot


13th February 2006

My Bro!
Dude, that is weird--two travelers also from Bellingham!! Hey guess what? Sarah Jo is getting married and wants us to scope out places that would be good to have a small wedding in Costa Rica! I'm going to be one of her two maids of honor! It's good to hear you are doing well; I love the pictures!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb