Buenas!


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello my lovely blog-watchers! Time for another update! Let's see, last I left off I was headed to Culebra a second time...

I went with Erick, his wife, his son, and two nephews again. Let me tell you, having kids there makes finding frogs just about a bajillion times easier. They easily caught over half of the 29 frogs that I collected on that trip! I had a good time and almost enjoyed the hike there and back. I managed to keep a faster pace than last time! I kept telling myself to "channel my inner Dr. Lindquist" because for some reason that man has ridiculous endurance. Anyway, I of course have to have a bug story. I can't go anywhere without some sort of story related to a creepy-crawly, can I? So, the first night, when we arrived, I checked out my room for spiders. The only spider I found was a little one right above where my head would be. It was maybe a centimeter or so in diameter, including legs (sorry for using centimeters instead of inches, but I live in Panama, what do you expect?). Anyway, I didn't want to remove it with my hands, so I asked Erick if there were any paper towels or something that I could use to move the spider outside of my room. He proceded to come in and pick the spider up with his hands while simultaneously laughing at me for being such a wimp.

That was night one.

Night two was much, much worse. I went in to go to sleep and shined my flashlight in the top bunk this time. I didn't want to look too closely at anything the night before, for fear that I would find a really big spider and not be able to sleep. What I found was worse. There was a wasps nest in the bunk above me. Again, I told Erick, and he told me he would fumigate in the morning. So I slept under a hornets nest that night. Well, I guess I technically did for two nights, but I didn't know the first. Other than that, not much interesting happened there.

After Culebra, I went back to the States. After 32 hours of traveling, including buses, waiting, and a ticket change because of a missed connecting flight, I made it to the BWI airport. I won't detail out my time at home, though. Sorry, this is a blog about Panama. Get over it.

Julia, my sister, joined me on my flight back to Panama and we had all sorts of fun during the week that she was here. The flights were fairly uneventful, but I did manage to leave my purse on one of the buses. I went sprinting back through the terminal when I realized it was gone and got it off of the bus. Had I been just 3 minutes later, the bus would have driven off. We spent a few days at my house here in Cerro Punta where we watched movies, ate out, and gave my kitten a bath! Then we took the bus back to Panama City and spent two days there. We decided to be super American and went to the mall both days. The first day, we saw Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters, and the second day we saw the first half hour of Oz the Great and Powerful in 3D. We only saw the first part because the mall caught on fire while we were in it. We ended up watching the enormous amount of smoke billowing out of the mall for an hour before finally finding a taxi who would take us back to our hotel and then to Napoli's Pizza. From there, I took Jules to the airport before heading back to the bus terminal for the 10 hours of bus riding back to Cerro Punta.

Not a lot exciting has happened since then, though I do have one story. It was late at night and I was sitting in my bed reading a book on my iPhone, when suddenly, something fell off of the ceiling and onto my head. Understandably, I think, I threw my phone and swiped at my head while jumping out of bed and running across the room. I turned the light on and began a hunt for what I assumed must be a giant spider. I looked everywhere around my bed and under it without finding a spider, so I decided that it must have been one of my bangs falling forward onto my forehead. I laughed at myself and went to sleep. The next morning, I woke up and went to check on the frog that I had in a plastic bag in my room. The bag had a hole in it. Now I know what landed on my head, and I still can't find the frog.

Unfortunately, Travelblog has changed their way of uploading pictures and it's not allowing me to upload them from here. I'm assuming it's because my internet is so slow. I'll post some of my pictures to facebook tomorrow if you'd like to see pictures that go along with the events.

Advertisement



20th March 2013

Em, Even tho you were home and I got to see you and talk to you, it is still so great to hear from you! Your writings are great! They make me laugh and allow pictures in my head. I truly enjoyed picturing you when you thought there was a huge spider on your head! Thanks for the update and the laugh!
20th March 2013

Chuckle
Oh Emily! You always give me a chuckle. Of course, had I been there with you when you found the hornets' nest, I wouldn't have been chuckling. I doubt you had any concern about a frog landing on your head. Your concern was, no doubt, that you lost the frog. I love these blogs. I'll be checking Facebook for the pictures. I love you, Emily Grandma

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb