Hola!


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Cerro Punta
December 15th 2012
Published: December 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dracula astutaDracula astutaDracula astuta

This is a Dracula orchid. Dracula means "little dragon" and I can definitely see the little dragon in this orchid!
Sorry that I haven't written for a while. It became monotonous just telling you everything I did every single day. Plus, if I space them out, you'll appreciate them more, right? Anyway, I'll pick and choose interesting days to tell you about.

Two days ago I went to the city of David to do some Christmas shopping for "secret friend" for the Finca Dracula Christmas party. Of course, I would draw the name of the 60-something year old who lives behind me who I've only talked to once. What the heck am I supposed to get an older (notice, grandparents, that I said "older", not "old") Panamanian woman?! It would be hard enough to shop to for one of the girls my age!

We got a ride to David, which was nice because I was expecting to take the bus. The guy driving the car was driving really fast on very curvy roads (like 140kph, which is 85mph). We survived, and he dropped Liriola, Liriola's tía (aunt), and me off at a department store. We didn't buy anything at the first store, but at the second store we went to, Conway, I bought a bottle of lotion and three
"Sexy" Lingerie"Sexy" Lingerie"Sexy" Lingerie

I saw this at one of the department stores and busted out laughing... Just because you label something one way doesn't make it so. Plus, it's in English, so no one but me could understand it anyway!
decorative candles for Maria. I feel like I can't go wrong with that. We passed a Subway and a TGIFriday outside of the stores and I can't even tell you how much I wanted to eat at both of those places. We hopped in a taxi and went to another area of David to shop some more. For the record, I hate shopping. I know I'm a girl, and that means that I should enjoy it, but I hate clothes shopping. I don't mind shopping for practical things, as evidenced by the fact that I bought a few kitchen supplies, but clothes shopping is just monotonous and boring. Unfortunately, the two women that I was with did not share in my disdain for clothes shopping and spent a lot of time looking at them. I gritted my teeth and followed them around like a puppy until we went to get lunch at a restaurant. It was kind of like a buffet, but you didn't serve yourself. I had arroz con pollo and jugo de maracuya (rice with chicken and passionfruit juice). From there, we visited a couple more shops and then got on the bus to go to Pricemart, then a shoe store, then waited for a while for a bus, then finally rode the bus for 2ish hours home. It was nice having other people with me on the bus. It meant that I could sleep for a little bit without worrying about not getting off the bus. That was pretty much everything exciting that happened during that day.

The next day (yesterday) my excitement was talking to Chris on the phone and finally getting my propane hooked up to my stove. Plus, we adjusted the hot water heater so I actually have hot water now.

Today, I had a Christmas party, but I'll tell you about that the next time I blog!

Advertisement



15th December 2012

ive missed you!
So glad to read news from you! I figured your life had gotten more exciting and you just didn't have time to write. :) Praise the Lord for the propane! Great news! And I love that you're getting to travel. All sounds great and you'll have visitors soon! I'll be looking forward to hearing about the Christmas party! Aunt Amy
15th December 2012

Sexy Lingerie
Em, Oh, so funny! Pappy thinks they look like men's boxer shorts. (I don't particularly enjoy shopping either.) We are busy today getting ready for the church's Christmas dinner this evening. That will take most of the day. My washing machine died yesterday so we will be purchasing a new one on Monday. We really enjoy hearing from you, and we love you.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb