Otro Día en Panama


Advertisement
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My living roomMy living roomMy living room

Clothes everywhere.
Yesterday I studied a lot of Spanish and did a lot of laundry.

I was pretty much out of clothes. I wore my last shirt and only wore one sock. I know I brought an even number of socks with me, so apparently I lost one somewhere along the way. See, I have this dilemma: do I do laundry more often and deal with what a big pain in the butt it is, while always having clothes to wear, or wait until the last possible second and frantically try to dry my clothes in front of the fire so that I can wear them the next day? I choose option two, apparently.

I took my laundry over to Adolfo and Maria's house and ran it through the washing machine. While I waited for it to finish, I set up a spider-web of parachute cord around my living room so that I could everything up to dry. I even used a light fixture as an anchor point... hopefully it doesn't pull out of the ceiling! I went to get my laundry and carried the very heavy bag back to mi casa. Apparently the spin cycle of their washing machine doesn't
How I dry my socksHow I dry my socksHow I dry my socks

I have to dry my socks on my staircase because I didn't have enough parachute cord to hang them all!
work very well, because I ended up wringing out almost every piece of clothing before I hung it up.

After getting it hung up, I went up to the office for a while to use the internet, set my frogs free, and cook some pasta. Erik was cooking in the kitchen at the same time, so we did a food swap. He had some of my pasta con salsa (noodles with tomato sauce) and I had some of his arroz con carne (rice with meat). Then I facetimed my parents for a little while and set off for my house to try to start a fire and try to dry my clothes.

Thus started the long night of clothes drying and studying español. Things only dry when they are right in front of the fire, so I use the screen as a drying rack. I dried a pair of pants and a shirt that are quick-dry to wear tomorrow, and then proceeded to spend over an hour drying my pajama pants. I've been wearing shorts to bed, but really really wanted my nice warm flannel pants. Plus, when I put them on after being in front of the
Felice Navidad...Felice Navidad...Felice Navidad...

Con no nieve :( Sola lluvia.
fire, it was almost like they came straight from the dryer.

By the time I was done, I had hung my smartwool socks on the mantle like Christmas stockings.

Advertisement



4th December 2012

Laundry
Dear Emily, Did you wash all of this in one load? You knew I would ask that. If you did, that could affect the spin cycle. It could affect some other things too! I am soooo looking forward to seeing you. I love you, Grandma
4th December 2012

:D
I did, but it is a high capacity washer. My clothes didn't even fill it half way :)
4th December 2012

and I'm looking forward to seeing you too!!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb