Bring on the Rain - I Have a Roof


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 of actual construction and I have a roof. It still needs to be painted.

Unfortunately, I missed roofing day, as I was enjoying an interesting day traveling to another town getting more cash. I thought the bus ride over the mountains was thrilling. That was a warm-up for the bus to Changuinola and the bank. And, theres nothing more thrilling than walking through a foreign, marginal, shanty town to the bus station, with thousands in cash on your person. Being stared at, machetes gleaming in the hot sun. OK, Did I say walking? I was running.

As I requested a steeper roof pitch than the original plans (so I could make a small loft area - you know, for when Mom and Dad visit), Wanchow had to tie a rope around his waist. I guess, it was draped over a beam with a subordinate holding the other end, in case he slipped off.

OK, I embellished. What few machetes I saw were in a store......and they do not really gleam.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

3 makes a neighborhood3 makes a neighborhood
3 makes a neighborhood

next door neighbor and empty shack. the rest in viewing range is jungle and ocean.


17th October 2009

woo-hoo !!!! a roof !!
And only 7 days into construction !!!!! what is your mailing address ;-)
17th October 2009

roof?
is the roof metal? we had a metal roof in a rental house once - youll like the sound when it rains
17th October 2009

Cool.
All I can say is "Cool". (In a meeting this week, one of the reinsurers said nothing but cool so it is now the standing joke.) But seriously, it looks good and the ocean views are even better.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb