Solo Adventures


Advertisement

So, today was really fun I had a leisurely morning with breakfast/lunch in the local mercado. It was my first full day completely on my own and I didn´t quite know what to expect. I decided to follow Lonley Planet directions to a Stone petroglyph just a ways out of the city. After walking a while on the road out of town I came to the conclution that Lonely Planet needs to work on their directions. I ended up on this muddy dirt road which whould have seemed really remote and desolate except that cars were passing me every few minutes. It seemed like all of the cars had surf boards hanging out ends. So I changed my plan and decided to follow the surfers! I walked and walked and walked. How far could this beach be? Several taxis passed by asking if I wanted a ride but the walk was beautiful and I was too stubborn to pay anything. After a few offers I finally gave in. An older man drove the little pickup with a man and woman squeezed into the front seat and two surf boards hanging out the back. He asked me if I was going to Playa Madera. Well that sounded pretty good to me. He motioned for me to hop in the back and away we went along the bumpy road. We stoped awhile later and unloaded. They had several grogery bags and so I offered to help them take their stuff down to the beach. It was a beautiful relaxing beach with tons of surfers and some really big waves. I sat and watched since I hadn´t planned on going to the beach I didn´t have a swimsuit with me. It was a great place to people watch and soak up some sun. A few hours later the old man who gave me a ride came up and asked me if I wanted a ride back to San Juan del Sur. Awesome! because I didn´t have any idea how I was going to get back. He told me that they were going to take off in about a half an hour. I thanked him once again for his kindness. Then before I know it he brings me a cold soda. I don´t even know where he came up with that out here on this remote beach but there it was. Again I found myself thanking him and stuned in amazement at the Nica hospitality. When we started to leave I asked him how much the drink was so that I could pay him back but he refused. Manuel, Diego, and I loaded up into the truck and I got a ride all the way back to San Juan Del Sur. Manuel dropped Diego and I off just a few blocks from my hospedaje. It was a completely unexpected and spontaneous afternoon that couldn´t have been planned better.

Advertisement



2nd July 2008

Wow!
What an awesome adventure! I am so proud of you. Take care and travel safely. Say 'hi' to Monda and the kids.
2nd July 2008

Wow Jen! I am soooo proud of you and so happy that you are having this experience! And a little jealous too. : ) Your story of Manuel beautifully illustrates one of the best things about foreign travel -- human connection.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb