Granada


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Granada shortly after leaving Ometepe but again travelling with the English girls it cost me a fortune in taxis. This is where I got my first real taste of what I expected of Central America, its still touristy but has a very authentic feel to the place. I found it really easy to get around and knew a few people in the hostels near by which Id already met in other places so we were able to go out in groups. A group of us went cliimbing the bell tower of the church whilst a funeral was going on seemed a little strange but gave great views of the city from above. The following day we woke to heavy rain so wasted a day in the bars. I met Ray from New Zealand in San Juan and Ometepe and again bumped into him here. He too had been looking for a more authentic place and felt the same as I did. We headed out in the evenings and found a pool hall where it was just locals in a very dark and dingy room. Within seconds of walking in we were welcomed by many locals who wanted to play against us. We bought them a beer each at the price of 50cents and that was it, many games later they didnt want a penny for playing with us. cheap nights indeed.

Playing in the pool halls with locals has set the trend for the rest of the trip I think

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb