"Central America on One Foot"


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blue casts unite!Blue casts unite!Blue casts unite!

Met Galo from Costa Rica at my hostel Oasis... spotted his blue cast from across the room and we bonded over breakfast about how fiberglass can really complicate your life.
I think this will be the title of my first travel book.

I am getting around just fine these days. Not much exciting stuff to report, but have posted a few new photos of Granada and some of my travel friends from Australia. It is so nice to meet people, hang out for a few days- but then you have to say goodbye, which is never fun!

Plan is to head through Costa Rica in next few days and make my way to the Carribean Coast by bus. Meeting Jen Cocohoba- a friend from San Francisco in Panama at Bocas del Torro for a few days, then on to Panama City and finally flying to Buenos Aires March 31st. Should be interesting to travel by myself by bus through 2 border crossings, but I have made it this far!

There is a video that I tried to attach of me crutching my way through the streets in Granada... if you can´t open it, let me know and I can send it via email. Click the link on left corner that says crutches... or you can try to paste in this link? maybe?

http://fliqz.com/FliqzWebPublic/Dynamic/Player.htm?from=perma

And that´s all I´ve got.

**********************************************************************
El Criple couldn´t be bothered to check it like a bill in Guatemala.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

CappucinoCappucino
Cappucino

at cafe off of Parque Central where I would study Spanish in the afternoons after classes
La Farmácia GranadaLa Farmácia Granada
La Farmácia Granada

The inventory in this place was crazy... all over the place, boxes upon boxes. The pharmacist counted the pills with his hands, put them into a piece of paper, folded it up, and hand wrote the directions. What?
La Farmácia Granada 3La Farmácia Granada 3
La Farmácia Granada 3

Vicky- do you recognize any of those antibiotics?
Public Bus in GranadaPublic Bus in Granada
Public Bus in Granada

Bus we took from Granada to the market at Masaya... not quite as small and crowded as the chicken buses in Guatemala, but same concept.
Public Bus in Granada 2Public Bus in Granada 2
Public Bus in Granada 2

and the driver was blasting an awesome 80s Soundtrack that I wish I could have on my own iPod- Darren wish you could help me remember what those songs were- you are good at that!
Public Bus in Granada 3Public Bus in Granada 3
Public Bus in Granada 3

Darren on bus...the sign on the front says "Dios bendiga este bus" = "God blessed this bus" Thank goodness- now we don´t have to worry about the high speeds and swerving!
Bearded MonkeyBearded Monkey
Bearded Monkey

Shannan, Darren, Lisa at Bearded Monkey for that awesome chicken burrito and a few games of Backgammon. (Shannan- you have a much better photo, send it to me so that I can replace this one!)
Monkey HutMonkey Hut
Monkey Hut

Lisa, Darren (Adelaide, Australia), Shannan (Perth, Australia) - we spent the weekend at the Laguna de Apoyo my favorite escape from hot Granada
Monkey Hut 2Monkey Hut 2
Monkey Hut 2

Darren and Shannan cooking me breakfast!
Monkey Hut 3Monkey Hut 3
Monkey Hut 3

Shannan with some VERY fresh eggs... They came from near the same Puperia where we ate dinner the night before- a pig was hanging out at our feet just like a pet dog through the whole meal.


15th March 2007

I love the fotos...and i love your entries. i cant wait to actually talk to you to test out them spanish skills of yours...i want to hear you roll you Rs, baby. let me know if you want me to connect you with some of my friends in panama. they live in panama city. may be worthwhile. i met them in gville, so you all will have something in common from the start. good luck, my dear. i'm really glad that you stayed in nicaland and stumbled your way around on one foot. i've always known (first-hand) that you're a bad ass. i miss you and love you lots!
15th March 2007

book
OMG - what a great idea for a travel book...how to travel injured and still have fun!!!
16th March 2007

Peacocks love you
So the Peacocks had dinner tonight and they all agree that you are brave, full of life, and independent beyond reason. It's what I hoped for. Love your determination~! Lots o Love, lisasmom
20th March 2007

I finally found your blog! I can't believe you broke your ankle, but it looks like it is good to make you slow down and enjoy the small things. I hate crutches! But you will have the buffest arms! Hope you don't have to keep it casted for your whole trip. Thinking about you out here in SF (its raining today! imagine that!) Love ya.
21st March 2007

I just found your blog
Lisa: Due to a baby shower (which I did not attend) I just heard about your blog. I started with this entry, but plan to work my way from front to back this evening. How wonderful that you realized that if we wait too long, life will go by. No time like the present! I think this is a great adventure you are on and I commend your spirit. I will be reading through your adventures tonight and plan to comment as time goes on! Be safe and enjoy the real education the world offers. All my best, Your cousin Tony sox_whitesox@yahoo.com
27th March 2007

OMG
What a great little video! You look quite hot with those crutches :) miss you

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb