On my Top 5 Places I've been..Ometepe Island


Advertisement
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What's up everyone?

As I sit here on the south part of the Island overlooking Lake Nicaragua, I'm taking time reflecting on life and How It's really amazing that I am in this place. For those who do not wish or have no interest in seeing other parts of the world, I say you are truly missing out, but on the other side of the coin I am of course Bias on that topic so I can understand.

Ok moving on to my adventure here, The first day I woke up early around 530am in SJDS to catch a cab from my hostel to the San Jorge Ferry for Ometepe, I was the only Foreigner on the ferry which was a nice change I suppose, My first impressions of Lake Nica was "wow this shit is like an ocean" the waves are crazy big, nice swells the whole hour ride over. I finally arrived with Moyogalpa with Volcan Concepcion towering up in front of me. I walk down the plank and I meet Oscar ( the taxi driver for Monkey's Island Hostel ) which I will soon see I'm glad I got a taxi the $30 fee is WELL worth it because its about a 2 hour drive to the south Island due to what looked like mortar holes in the dirt road and I can't imagine taking the "chicken bus" all this way. On the way I get a close up glimpse of the big Volcano it's a spectacular sight on a clear day and I asked Oscar if the Volcanoes were active and he proceeds to pull out his cell phone to show me some pictures of The volcano erupting about 4 to 5 months ago..Really cool!

I arrive to Monkeys Island and meet Jacinto the owner of the place, It's a really stunning place and family owned, he has about 25,000 kids lol, they all help out the business and they also go fishing in the lake for the restaurant they have here, It's quite nice. We get a few tall beers and chat about everything and he shows me my room which is nice and very cheap also.

The 2nd day I met a couple from Switzerland and we hit it off pretty good and chat about our travels and many more things, turns out they started in February in Asia and worked their way all through South America and some of central america, me and Christian decide we want to Hike the small volcano the next day.

We got our guide early in the morning around 630 am and we were off, This was one of the most challenging things I have ever done in my life, me being out of shape and a smoker, it was about a 1 1/2 hr trek to the volcano itself, as we started the hike up the Volcano it was Quite muddy and tough to walk through, but luckily it was the whole way up, halfway up is mostly dense plants and trees a few monkeys live up here and as we got to the top it was tough climbing over trees when our muscles were just drained! FINALLY we reached the top where the "Lake" was ...It was disappointing to say the least! Brown and mucky, but all in all it was quite an adventure I can tell people about. The views as you can imagine are just amazing!

About 6 hours later we returned and the pics we got were AMAZING!! Me, Christian and his Wife Marilyn sat down for dinner and had some drinks and talked most of the night, and went down to the little beach for a drink and sunset pictures! All in All it was a fantastic 2 days here and I really enjoyed it very much! I will be heading to Grenada today or tomorrow because the Altagarcia ferry only runs at midnight! sucks! but what can you do ya know.....so I will talk with you all in a few days!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



8th October 2011

Great photos
Enjoyed your blog. Sorry if my Cuba blog sounded anti American. I love most things American including my wife who was born in New York state. Cheers - Bryan

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb