Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I write to you from a rainy and windy Ometepe Island! As I mentioned in my last entry, it was really hot…unbearably hot. Well, official the 28th of October, it rained cats and dogs. That night, I could instantly feel a difference of temperature. I welcomed the rain with open arms; we needed it! Although I will have to time when I walk back to the house after meals, at least it will be cooler for us. As I write this entry, I am listening to the roaring effects of the rain and feel myself shouting at others just to be heard over its powerful sound. However, at least everything will be that much more beautiful. When it is not raining, it is windy. The Internet is never reliable in these hurricane winds. The other night, I had a dream I was caught in a wind -storm…

Insects…Our Friends
As I was getting lunch one day from the fridge, I saw a very large black object strolling towards me…little did I know it was a hermit crab! And, it was huge! I dragged it out with the broom while our cat Snutcha got to it. Just the other day, our blond cat Chicky ate a live gecko. I saw him cut his sharp teeth into the insect; the tail was still moving as he chewed the body. The life here is somewhat exotic.

San Juan
San Juan was a good time to get away, especially since there was no Internet on the homeland. The day I got there, I went to an Internet café and found out that I was officially an auntie. I leapt with joy at this! However, it was so hard to be away. The birth went amazingly smooth. The doctor said in the last altar sound that she saw the baby blink, which hardly happens. My sister and brother in law are on cloud 9 and doing well.

I also had the opportunity to take a boat ride. With Sana’s connections, we were able to score a free ride on a boat on the Pacific to visit an unspoiled virgin beach!!! Jose, a friend of an employee for NPH, works for an American in San Juan who owns a boat. We were able to rent what we wanted, free of charge, and set out. I have always admired the boats sitting peacefully on the San Juan bay, wishing I could have a chance to have a ride on one of them…Well, when opportunity comes sailing your way, you better seize it while you can!

The hardest part was getting past the waves, even within the safety of the bay. However, once we were past them, we went flying south into unknown territory. Seeing the ocean’s beaches from the ocean’s point of view was breathtaking. And, to make the day better, the waves were huge! My favorite part was seeing the swell of the wave as it rose before me, not even being able to see the beach, which lay ahead some distance. It seemed that when the wave rose, it was above us. Seeing the power of the wave as it swells up, seconds away from breaking is a very interesting sight. You are just glad you are on that side of the wave and not on the other side, where you can get toppled. And, these waves were huge! There is a lot of power that goes into each wave as it gets bigger and bigger.

We finally docked far enough away from Playa Hermosa (Beautiful Beach in Spanish). Since everyone in the boat was a surfer, they jumped onto their surfboards, taking to the ocean right away. I stayed on the boat, as I didn’t rent any equipment; I could borrow the boogie board later…I guess I could swim, but to tell you the truth, I was terrified to jump out into the deep ocean…Who knows what’s lurking beneath us? Probably lots of fish…and, as most of you know, I am afraid of fish.

While the others took to the waves right away, enjoying the virgin beach devoid of people, I sat in the boat with Fernando, the driver. It was a lovely view from here; the beach seemed miles away. We were the only ones here, as you cannot get to this beach via land. That’s what I loved about this! The cliffs formed my background while the boat splashed back and forth, rocking on the monster waves. Riding in the boat as it zipped to the beach was fun, but ever since we docked, I felt sick. I have a weak stomach… I spend most of my time lying on the floor of the boat, trying not to vomit.

When I felt better I thought I should try for a swim. As daunting as the deep blue Pacific seemed with all its creatures, even after Fernando told me he has seen sharks, I jumped out, with a life vest. It if weren’t for that, I would have probably drowned; the waves were that high. Pretty soon my swim made me exhausted as I was just at the tipping point of the waves. Unfortunately, that is where the group was, where I felt safer. However, I also risked getting toppled by the mighty water or being cut off by a surfer. I could swim to the beach, but I knew it would be too hard to get back to the boat with the size of the waves. With a life vest on too, it was hard to duck down under the wave, as I was too buoyant. So, I decided to swim back to the boat. Before I did, I took some last screams as huge waves threatened to topple me. Being in the deep blue ocean, way past the normal swimming area usually allowed for swimmers was terrifying but also exhilarating at the same time.

With the little strength that I had left, I tried my hardest to kick my legs and use my arms as I swam for my haven in the boat. Never before have I been so anxious to get back to something solid where sharks or fish couldn’t touch me. However, the boat seemed to be so far away…I wasn’t making much progress. From the boats perspective, the beach seemed somewhat close. However, once I was in the ocean, the boat seemed miles away. After what seemed like forever, I finally reached my haven and collapsed on the floor. Pretty soon after, Suzi joined me and puked 3 times over the edge. We were so sea sick that we slept on the bottom for a while.

The Life of NPH…
On the way back from my relaxing time in San Juan, I was told that I would be meeting with two other employees of NPH to discuss the international meeting in February, hosted at the Montilimar resort in Managua this year. So, I stayed in the office, also helping fill out visa forms for our dance group who would be leaving for the West coast later that week. I got to use high speed Internet as well. However, in the morning, I was told I wasn’t needed at this meeting! So, I stayed over at the office for nothing and could have gone back with transport 24 hours earlier. I was a little mad, as this was my break time away from NPH, even though this happens all the time. So, I hung around the office and got transport to the ferry later. When the transport didn’t pick my group up at the port, we walked back to the house from San Jose. So typical…Halfway along the way, we hitched a ride on the back of a truck with 10 others. You know that typical scene of cheap labor workers in the back of a truck? Well, this was our ride. Inside was filled with the banter and laughter of gossip and jokes, typical of this folk. It’s interesting how the poor people of any population are usually loud, but they sure know how to have a good time!

Then, I had school to face. I would be running the school store, giving it a try after the first time was a disaster, with all the stealing. Well, I had a really hard day at school. When you don’t sleep well, it affects your tolerance level. Getting through the day was a struggle.
That afternoon, I was robbed, again. Others gifted all the items in that store. I couldn’t understand how a good act could be taken advantage of… Practically in tears, I tried to tell my students that this was not acceptable and that there would be no future stores or presents. It seems as if a few bad ones have to ruin it for the others. There are days like this when I am so frustrated. However, I have learned to brush these things off and I reenergized the next day, sometimes to have it happen all over again. I have to take each day one at a time. I have also learned the importance of good chocolate, food, and a good book to comfort me. These things, once taken for granted, sooth me here when I have really bad days. Later that week, I talked with everyone who was in my room at the time of the stealing…and to my surprise, I got all my stuff back. I was elated and proud that these boys had the courage to tell the truth. It’s true that the truth sets you free, but I can’t imagine how hard it must have been for them to do that in a culture where stealing is the norm. I was also surprised in my detection abilities. I am getting to the point where I can tell a lie from the truth, some of the time. Honestly, I was sadder that the boys would steal in the first place rather than losing my stuff. I explained that this type of behavior slowly ruined our relationship and I didn’t want that to happen because I want to foster a healthy relationship with all of my students.

On the upside, I was invited to a special dinner for the support group here at NPH. The best older students are asked to become support for the little kids and NPH wanted to thank them. In semi-formal attire, we threw a celebration where we ate good food in air conditioning! It was a really happy day. Despite all the stress the kids bring, I felt really proud to be congratulating them. It was one of those nights where my feeling of belonging in the NPH family was really strong. Plus, it was nice getting dressed up. Everyone looked transformed in his or her suits, ties, and dresses.


Descansio….the needed breaks
Descansios are running low. As I will be staying longer, I feel the need to not travel so much every break. I mean, San Juan del Sur or Granada is only fun only so many times…once you are there all the time doing all the same things, it is not fun. I don’t feel the need to spend money to see something I have already seen many times before and with the same people. I would rather take this weekend and get caught up on extra work, as I have 2 full time jobs at the moment with NPH.

On an upside, it’s the people who make the experience for me as well as for many others. If I am at a place with different people, it takes on a whole new vibe. This past descansio, I traveled to Granada, the same place I took my mother for vacation. Although it was the same place, it took on a whole new meaning. I was with different people, eating at my budget restaurants, sleeping in hostels and not partaking in fancy excursions around town.
However, I was with half of our current volunteer group and Georg, a former volunteer in our group. It was amazing to spend time with everyone for what seems like the last time. They will all leave me in January.

The most stressful part about traveling anywhere in Nicaragua on a budget is that you will take public buses to get to places. We are not all privileged to have access to cars like many of us do back home. So, buses it is. The bus from NPH to Moyogalpa was especially fun, as part of the main road was blocked off. This meant taking un-paved dirt roads most of the way. This wouldn’t be so bad if we didn’t have a lot of stuff and if the bus wasn’t loaded over capacity. At one point in the road where the mudslide must have gone through, the bus got caught in a dirt hole and my side of the bus was badly dipping. Half the bus stepped out until we got the bus out of the hole! Gosh….the experiences in this country…when we reloaded, I tried my best not to squish the little boy in the back window. Poor guy…I am glad he didn’t suffocate. I had the advantage of standing in the spare tire in the back. If it weren’t for my privilege of elevation, I would be smelling armpits of the people squished all around me holding onto the railing.
The ferry was nice and non -crowded, although with all the new flooding, we had to walk on sand bags to load it. Further, when cars loaded, they had to pass through the lake that has formed on the driveway. Everything is flooding. I guess it makes life more exciting…

Granada was our destination. I sat down on a half sagging bus seat. I guess here, you take what you can find, even if you are about to fall through the bus seat. Along with the usual medications and foods, or live walking infomercials as I like to call them, that sold up and down the aisles, an unusual man came on with a surprise. Quite casually, he took out a very large animal from his backpack, parading it through the aisles. I almost puked as he paraded the iguana around, posing for pictures, assembling it on the bus seats for all to see. The poor thing had a bag over its head. I mean, it was dead, but it smelled. He took it in and out of his bag as if it was a notebook. In Nicaragua, iguanas are sold on the market and are apparently full of vitamins and minerals. They are somewhat of a delicacy. Sick…I can’t imagine eating that thing. This was the largest I have seen…it was about the span of one and a half grown arms.

Granada brought with it the familiar sounds and sights the last time I was here with my mom. However, it made me sad. I had enjoyed this city with her and now she was gone. At the same time, I now feel a special connection with Granada that I didn’t feel before.
As it was all saints day, flowers were everywhere…it made the city fresh. While admiring all the different types, I heard the soothing sound of drums. As you all know, after many years of marching band, I love the sound and look of drummers doing their thing. I watched, mesmerized as Granada’s school’s performed one heck of a show. The dance lines had all the right moves and the drummers played a catchy beat. I was happy to find some flag girls, but disappointed that they were not spinning them. In fact, they all looked bored to death. If I were in charge of that flag line, I would at least let them do something…I was only last weekend while I was here with my mom that we saw a parade in the same square park. That time, they were celebrating Columbus Day, since the real Columbus Day was flooded. In Nicaragua, any holiday is an excuse to have a parade. I kind of like this country’s fun spirited attitude towards celebrating.

That night, we ate with the whole group. I was also introduced to a good friend of some of the volunteers, Chepe. He dined with us that evening. Chepe is the proud owner of our favorite hostel in town. As we enjoyed our Asia cuisine, we talked about options for that night. Chepe suggested we vote. A = Managua B=Granada C= do nothing. He had a car and wanted to treat us volunteers. When he suggested Managua, I couldn’t believe it. For him, going to the capital of night- life in Nicaragua is like going to the grocery store…only a 30 minute drive for him…For me, that would be like going to Minneapolis for a fun night out. Back home in my old life, that would actually be possible. However, here in Nicaragua as a volunteer, many freedoms have been taken away, like going wherever we want to when we want to. I never realized how much I missed my freedom until I saw people who had it. So, you can guess which option I chose.
Granada ended up winning. We stayed up all night dancing. I haven’t had that much fun in a long time, and I don’t even like regaetton music. Sadly, Nicaragua has desensitized my instant displeasure to the music. However, at the same time, it’s more about the people you are with who make the experience.
I ended the night by colliding into a metal trashcan. In Nicaragua, street- lights can be uncommon. Well, while talking, I managed to run into one in almost pitch darkness while walking back to the car. It left a nice mark. Holes are also a common threat on the unlit streets. If you aren’t careful or observant, you could easily fall into one, even in the daylight. They range from angle deep to knee deep to waist deep. Well, I thought I was lucky enough to avoid them for 10 months until my mother came. I fell into one while coming back with groceries in my hands, also walking at full speed. That incident had left a nice mark that was just starting to heal. Now, I have another one.
The Nicaraguan government really needs to fill in those holes and invest in more streetlights for the safety of everyone!

TB
There has been an outbreak of TB, the unpleasant disease in your lungs. Two of our kids had it and therefore everyone was required to be tested. October last year was the last outbreak, so I wonder if it just comes around this time anyways. A reliable doctor from Managua came to administer the shots. Although it cost $40 each shot for all 274 kids including workers and volunteers, it as something important.

I stood in line as kid after kid screamed and worried about the needle. One kid was kicking and screaming the whole way! He needed two adults to drag him into the office. I worried more about him moving while they gave the shot, which would hurt more.
I remember being 5 years old and getting my booster shot and thinking about how terrifying that was...I can relate to that poor kid I guess. When it was my turn, I made Shirley, our sister in the monastery, come in to talk to me so that I wouldn’t think about what they were about to do to me. And, it worked. Although I am afraid of needles, this was nothing. Although it stung afterwards, it was not that bad.

After everyone got the shot, your future would be decided. If a red circle appeared, it meant you had TB. Well, not to my surprise, none of the volunteers had it but all the kids did! Our director told me that all the kids have TB, but in small amounts. I wonder why we got tested...However, I would have to be careful of coughing kids.

Elections: USA and Nicaragua
Being abroad often means missing important events, like the Presidential election! I secured my absentee ballot, which came just in time. I voted and was also able to watch the whole thing on TV. I will always remember watching the bug-infested TV screen when Obama gave his speech.


A Gift From Heaven: My Mother
After almost 10 months with no physical contact with my mother, she came. I had just arrived back from a work conference in Honduras and I met her at the airport the next day. The funny thing is, I didn’t recognize her! She had changed so much! Instant tears rolled down my cheeks as I welcomed her to my home of Nicaragua. It’s funny…you don’t realize you miss someone until you see them face- to- face. She was one of the first ones off the plane and we swiftly drove to San Jorge, a 2 -hour drive. Unfortunately, it was at night, so she wasn’t able to see the action on the streets and all the life it offered. We passed many people on bikes and others having parties on the streets. She was amazed at the amount of people outside and was worried that the bikers were going to get hit…

We stopped at a gas station in Masaya to get some late night food. This was her first experience with poverty at a whole new level and it was evident at the Stop N’ Go. Kids were begging for food and we gladly gave them our chocolate. Once inside, my mother brought the rest of her Mexican food from the Atlanta airport; it was very tasty. My mother was so full of questions and insights about her first hours in Nicaragua. The time together was the perfect medicine and it was as if we had picked up from where we left off.

We arrived at the office where 3 strong men and two dox-hounds helped drag our 5 suitcases up two flights of stairs. Once inside the room, the first thing she commented on was the heat!! In fact, I thought it was a little chilly. However, everything was and would be hot to her. I let her have the fan…we also unpacked all the stuff she brought from the states. Two of those suitcases were for my students, for my school store. Not only did she bring the stuff I bought, she bought 2 shopping carts full of fun kid stuff as well as all the donations from friends at work. I was absolutely amazed at the generosity of her co-workers and of my mother. I guess when you have a good cause, there are many people who will support it. It says something powerful about the potential of the human race; there is enough goodness to go around and once passed, it just gets multiplied. She also showed me the suitcase she brought just for me, filled with gummy worms, my favorite sweet, and Dove chocolates… that was above and beyond! Since coming here in January, I have received 2 suitcases and a small bag of stuff. My roommate calls me the high maintenance girl since I have so much stuff…

We slept, however, not for long. The roosters outside were confused and kept us up all night! After a morning at the office, we took the ferry with our entire luggage. It was a pleasant ride, except that I was without a few essentials. Not only did I have to call the director to tell him we would be arriving and needed transport, I had ½ a bar of battery left. I forgot my charger with the girls in Managua! On top of that, I had no money to call and my minutes were precious. We arrived in sunny and hot Moyogalpa. It was a beautiful day. As we lugged off the unpleasant suitcases, we were faced with the hills of Moyogalpa and the unpaved dirt roads. As the city is naturally hilly due to the volcanic ground, exploring it with suitcases is not an ideal situation. We dragged our suitcases, piggybacking them. We found the first restaurant we could find. After sitting down and finally breathing, I bought a phone card and called our director. Turns out, the only transport was in Balgue. We would be stuck here until 6:30pm or take a $40 taxi ride into San Lazaro. We agreed to wait, as my mom wanted to explore the city. As my Peace Corp friend wasn’t home to hold our luggage, we ended up dragging all our stuff with us the whole day.

The bright orange restaurant was really fun. Our waiter looked like a pirate, for he had an eye patch and one really long fingernail and was the father of two very noisy parrots. At one point as we were eating our tajadas and fajitas, the owner placed the birds on our table. Not a good idea…I am very afraid of birds. However, the 70’s music playing in the background was soothing. I sung with my mom to the BG’s in Nicaragua…crazy.

We eventually found our way to a place called The American Hotel, an upscale hostel and the only place on the island with American food and dishes cleaned in hot water. The owners kept us company for a few hours and even charged my phone! At one point, we heard an explosion. Volcano Concepcion gave a little, creating small puffs of black smoke at the top. My mom thought it was the coolest thing, even though for me, it was just normal. Then, we heard loud noises on the streets. The hotel owners explained that today was the rally for the elections on November 9th. The islanders were cheering for candidate number 2, flashing a peace sign. I thought it was for victory, Victoria the beer or even peace. I was a little disappointed to find out it only meant candidate number 2. We had so much fun throwing candy at the passing cars (here you throw candy at the floats…not the other way around like it is in many other places) and flashing number 2’s. The people were so excited and I think in the hour- long parade, I saw everyone who lived on the island. My mother enjoyed this so much.

At night, we found our way the evangelical church where we tried to sing along to the songs in Spanish. And, at 7pm, our transport finally came. We had been waiting for 7 long hours until we were picked up! The ride was pleasant, but again, in the dark, a repeat of the day before. We arrived at the volunteer house. Being late, we decided to stay here tonight and the next day would venture to the monastery where we would be sleeping.
My mother was not impressed with our little home, as it was very dirty. However, I assured her that I was the cleaner of the home and that we do our best.

The next day, we packed our things and moved to the monastery, our home for the next 8 nights. We left the kid stuff in the spare bedroom and only brought what was necessary. Even with one suitcase this time, walking along the unpaved beach path was quite difficult. We passed many trees with vines and the horrid bulls and cows. I also have a fear of large cattle with horns, but my mom assured me that we would be okay if we ignored them. Shirley greeted us and we settled in. I was off doing interviews and work as my mom got settled. Unfortunately, as this was also a special time with my mom, I had just arrived back from a conference where I learned about all my responsibilities of my new second job. Not only did I have a lot of work to do as English teacher this week, I had to catch up on a lot of Home Correspondent stuff. I had to balance the two together.
My mom was very supportive, helping me inventoried all 1,000 items for my kids. Later, we would figure out how many points the kids had, correct tests, correct homework, administer grades, and do test retakes. It was insanity, but if it weren’t for my mother, I would have double the work.

The first week was a whirlwind of work. However, we enjoyed eating with the girls and everyone was so excited to meet my mom. It was special for my mom to see my kids and to share in my life with them. Receiving hugs from perfect strangers was something new for her; she really admired their open affection.

My mother was a great presence in the classroom. Although we only had class twice due to the crazy week of exams, she learned a lot about the school system here. She commended me for working with such difficult students! One class was just terrible and I was mad that they were not afraid to act this was around my mother. The day of exams was a nightmare, as usual. My mother was with the oldest students, while I was with the first and second years. The amount of cheating that went on was unbelievable and this is just normal. After spending 6 hours correcting the tests among the two of us, we detected the cheaters and proceeded to make a new more difficult test for them. We gave magazines for the highest grades. We announced them at lunch for everyone to hear and it was such a big deal to win one. I hope that this served as a lesson that when you do well on tests, you will get public recognition and possibly a prize.

At night, we would end our day with the kids and walk to the monastery along the beach road, in complete darkness. I held my mom’s hand like I was a little girl as we sung songs until we reached the monastery. I also am afraid of the dark, so having my mom there helped a lot. It didn’t help that whenever we heard a noise, we would turn our backs…scary. Nothing has ever happened, but once again, we were walking on a public road. After tripping on many tree stumps, we would get back to the comfort of the monastery. We would rip open the gummy worms and watch our favorite show, So You Think You Can Dance. It was a nightly ritual back home and it became one here on my computer. This special time with my mom was simply amazing.

On our vacation, we had a chance to do some really wild things, Pura Nica style! We concentrated on the island for the first few days. I will always remember our unavailability to go on some hikes due to flooding! The nature hike that offers views of both volcanoes was flooded as well as the hike to the waterfall. However, we were able to visit an organic farm where we ate some of the best food I have ever tasted. I will also remember our time in Santa Domingo. As buses are hard to find, we missed the 2pm. So, we walked 3 hours to the bus stop, on uneven dirt roads. Along the way, we had fun giving candy to kids and going on an egg hunt, buying a few eggs here and there from multiple sources. Apparently, there was an egg shortage. We met a group of singing Nicaragua young men on bikes who accompanied us for a little while too; they were very appreciative of our lollipops. On the bus back, we passed the mudslide left from the other week. Oh, the joys of Ometepe. Our vacation on the mainland would be a little more civilizied.

Taking base in Granada, the first Spanish colonial city of the Americas, I convinced my mother to do the canopy tour, which she was very unsure about. She should have told me BEFORE of her fear of heights. We also did a walking tour of Mombacho volcano, where red ants bit her. That wasn’t too pleasant. We also had to listen to our guide laver us with compliments to the point that it was fake. She didn’t appreciate that.

I will never forget our day trip into Masaya. We went to the old, dirty, ugly market, the ones that tourists don’t usually go to. It was a fun experience until we tried to get a taxi to take us to the volcano. My mother HATED the men puckering their lips at us…no woman is safe from this unpleasant machomismic custom. After being disgusted, we walked to get some soda where my mom tripped on a rock and hurt her ankle. I felt so bad. I walked her to find some ice. I gave mean looks to all the undeserving men who still called at us although obviously we had a slight emergency to take care of…didn’t they notice that??? I set her down while I ran to find some ice. With a blue ankle, we managed to get to the bus and back to the hotel.

Among other exotic Nicaraguan things, we went on an island tour to the tiny islands of Granada. We saw them from the volcano and now we were touring them in our own private boat! This time, we had a new guide, who was definitely better. He didn’t lavish fake comments on us like the other guide. Oscar spoke excellent English as we toured the islands. The best part was visiting the monkey island. The little guys were so curious to see us!

Later that same day, we went to the white towns, Pueblos Blancos. There, we were given a private tour of Nicaraguan pottery. I never imagined all the steps involved in making one piece of pottery. It was truly amazing. At the end, I tried to mold clay into something recognizable...but with little success. My legs and arms easily grew tired of spinning and molding the clay.

I will remember our time in Granada, eating at the Spanish restaurant. There, I met a good contact to go salsa dancing with. We also met a lot of kids begging for food. This was definitely one of the first times my mom has given half of the food off her plate to the kids. For me, it is normal. But, this was a shocker for her. Part of the process is really humbling once you stop forgetting how annoying it is. We also witnessed a Nicaraguan parade, the second attempt to celebrate Columbus Day. She admired how they danced. That night, we spent two hours in the newest supermarket in Granada and the surrounding neighborhoods. For me, this was paradise, when back home, Cub Foods is a 5 minute walk, and bigger than this. However, for my Nicaraguan standards, this store was simply amazing. I could actually buy chocolate and good food! On the way back, I fell into the pothole. That was not pleasant.

One of the things I enjoyed the most was passing out candy to children. Since we had so much of it, we decided to surprise kids with random acts of kindness. I cannot explain the joy we felt in doing this simple act; it was really humbling. Honestly, it was better to surprise the people with candy verses having them beg for it. One particular incident will always stay in my memories. We passed a store that sold Catholic memorabilia. We asked the Sister if we could give candy to the few kids that were there. However, she told us there were 18 of them! She called them out; and one by one, child after child entered the room from the little opening in the wall. After Sister barked the kids into order (she was really strict), we gave them suckers and took some good photos. We will always remember the giggling and smiles of this orphanage.

After she left, it was weird. I honestly felt really sad. Having my mother here reminded me what life was like with at least one blood tie. Now, that was gone. It was like I got some good medicine for a few weeks and then, it was suddenly taken away. I felt like that kindergartener on her first day of school, having separation anxiety. The day she left was one of the most difficult days here in Nicaragua so far. I used the rest of the day to get back to the island and divulge in some chocolate and a good movie, cures for homesickness. I remembered passing Masaya volcano, Pueblos Blancos, and Laguna de Apoyo on the bus ride back. All those memories of my mother and I there came back to me.
As the weeks passed, I got in the groove of my hectic life here. Now, I have the memories to carry me the rest of the way. And, when I see a Nicaraguan parade, a pot hole in the street, or watch Dancing With the Stars, I think of her. Although I had a mom who cleaned up after me, licked dirt off my face and did other mom things, I had a wonderful time with her.

A Hike Up One of the Marvels of Nicaragua….Volcano Concepcion!
Ever since I arrived on the island, I have been convincing myself that I would attempt to climb Volcano Concepcion, the largest and most active volcano in Nicaragua. Well, late November was my time. Sana and I slept in the hostel in Moyogalpa that night where we talked with our guide about the big day. He was nice, but also a little unpleasant as he kept insisting to buy me a drink when I knew he had a family back home. I politely excused myself and tried to get some sleep. However, I couldn’t sleep that night.

We awoke at 4am. Our guide met us at the hostel, after we told him we would prefer meet him at the bus stop. This is also another unpleasant factor of some Latino men…they don’t listen to you. If you tell them something that is different than their idea, they go with their idea. Did he really think we would get hurt walking the 2 blocks to the bus stop? 3 hefty German men joined us. I just tried to mentally prepare myself for this hike, as I knew it would not be easy. In fact, I was a little scared, as I hadn’t been preparing. It was like I skipped the 5 and 10 k’s and went straight to the marathon!

The first part was really fun, walking on flat land. After about an hour and a half of this, the land abruptly changed to steep terrain. I was in the back, followed only by one of the Germans. Hours and hours of steep climb really got to me. If it weren’t for my German friend, I wouldn’t have gotten up. He pushed me until I couldn’t go on. My walking stick helped some, but in some parts, the path was as skinny as one of my legs. It was hot and dirty. I used my arms to grab onto trees and whatever else I could find. The sound of teasing monkeys and the beautiful butterflies made the journey a little bit more pleasant.
The whole way, I tried to think about how life is like this volcano: long, hard, and not nice at times. But, you know that if you keep going, there is a surprise waiting for you. The walk up there isn’t nice, but you are rewarded for your perseverance. In 3 hours, we made it to 1000 meters and an amazing view. The trees gave way to shrubs and we were trying to marvel in the view among the clouds. It was breathtaking, literally. The wind was so strong that it took your whole might to stand up straight. To our left was a deep crevice that looked very dangerous. Wouldn’t want to get blown into that…to our right was a pelicular green colored meadow and a random cow. And, to top it off, I was depleted of everything I had that morning. My legs felt like they were about to fall right underneath me. I was short of breath and my head hurt. And, I was shivering! I had on three layers plus a sweater and three pairs of pants. The rest of the group wanted to go up the remainder 600 meters. I opted to stay behind.

Although scared of the chance that the volcano might blow and I would be left alone wondering what to do, or the chance that a man with a machete would come by, I curled up in a fetal position and lied behind some shrubs. Our guide reassured me that everything would be okay. They would hike up fast and come back as soon as possible.
I waved the group goodbye as I saw them disappear into the thick clouds.

I waited in those shrubs, trying to take in the amazing view. I could see many towns, as well as Moyogalpa. Unfortunately, we were on the wrong side to see our home at NPH. And, the ferry below looked like a little ant in the vast expanse of Lake Nicaragua. When I tried to concentrate on the beauty, I was startled by clicking noises from within the bushes…I later found out that they could have been monkeys.
At the end of one hour, I saw the group return. They were able to go up 400 meters but no more, due to dangerously high winds. I was proud of them and welcomed their return.

We waited about an hour before descending. And, when we finally did, the group took off without me! I was left with the guide. As I struggled down, slipping on rocks and taking it really slow, my guide was unnecessarily machomismic. I had wished that the group had waited for me! Then, this whole thing would have been avoided. Once again, my legs felt like plastic and I felt light-headed, losing my balance many times. I didn’t understand how our guide jumped and ran down, as he did going up. I wish I could be in that good of condition! However, I reminded myself that I was attempting something really difficult and I should be happy that I tried. And, not breaking a bone was a lot more important than making the 12:30 bus. The group and I descended in 2 hours.

The days to come were difficult. I walked with a gimp and faced the many questions of the kids. Did the volcano explode? Why are you walking like that? They were relieved that I was okay though, as was I.

School
The week to follow was the last week of classes. I gave make up tests and calculated grades for 3 days straight. And, I delivered good news to many students. It felt good to congratulate them for all their hard work for the year. It was nice to see their relieved smiles and hugs and for some, tears, for passing my class. I felt proud of their accomplishments. For some, I had to deliver the sad news that they would be taking my class and the school year over. The week was full of both emotions: happiness and regret.

The last test also went amazingly smooth! My largest class of 30 was completely silent for the fist time that year during the test. Too bad it had to be the last test like this, but at least it happened. I later found out that my first years didn’t have a silent atmosphere, as they were with another teacher. However, I was proud of my second years.

Thanksgiving
Thanksgiving was the second biggest holiday for me to celebrate in Nicaragua, next to Easter. It felt strange to not be at home. However, Shirley, the lovely sister at the monastery, Beth (the other North American) and myself brought and prepared good old American Thanksgiving food. Shirley and Beth spent the morning cooking as I celebrated the last day of school with my kids and with my fellow teachers.

All the employees of the monastery along with all the volunteers were invited for this feast and a feast it was. After a prayer in the chapel, we lined up at the buffet. Eating in the heat was not pleasant, but the food was so tasty! The best part was the dessert: about five different cookies and bars. Everyone brought home plates to eat later. It was nice to look at the cattle, the volcano, and Lake Nicaragua; talk about an exotic background!

Robbery
Shortly before Thanksgiving, I heard word that my parents came home from a vacation in Jamaica to a trashed home! The person entered from the back door and took many valuable things. I was in complete shock! You always think such a thing would never happen to you, but then it does. However, this didnt phase me a lot. I think it is because I am used to things being stolen. Here at NPH, our family room, filled with furniture, many games, and a CD player (a valuable item here) was trashed, along with our team office filled with many important items. However, back to Minnesota, I am glad my parents are safe and taking precautions in securing the house. And, they still have their health and happiness. However, I am still mad, as my parents work really hard. My dad is an honest man who put his sweat and hard work into constructing, fixing, or maintaining things in the home. Now, all that my parents have worked for has been comprimised. They just dont pay for things to be done...they put in the time for everything they have and I am mad that someone would take those possessions from them. This happened 3 days before everybody was planned to spend Thanksgiving in our home. However, this Thanksgiving was probably spent with a higher importance of family, as that is the most important anyways.


15th Celebration/Graduation
Two large events to happen were the Quincenera’s and the graduations. The quinceneara was such a special event, as 10 pairs of young men and women transformed into adults this night. The girls designed their dresses in sky blue and the guys wore sky blue shirts and black pants. The pairs descended down the aisle, hand in hand. That night, everyone ate a feast of gallo pinto, salsa, tajadas and fresh juice. It was the best food I have ate all year. And, to top it off, we ate the cake that the cooks spent 2 days preparing! The night ended with a dance party that lasted until 1 in the morning.

Graduation was the other big event that was really special. Their parent, relative, or good friend accompanied all graduates. The event started with mass and then each received their diploma. Everyone also ate a big feast later and a disco was enjoyed.

Our soccer teams also came back from a competition in Guatemala among all the other NPH homes. Our girls took first place, continuing their victory from the last tournament. Our boys took second! We greeted them at the ferry with a live band and fireworks taller then grown men. The kids were shooting off the fireworks from our truck, as 15 kids struggled to keep their balance in the back. I just laugh at the life here.

Summer Vacations and Christmas…the happenings of Casa Santiago
After graduations, the kids participated in summer sessions. I was in charge of teaching summer school for those who failed the year and also helping with arts and crafts. However, we had many activities to choose from: cookie and piñata making, library reading, drawing workshop, bracelet making, sports, or theater. The kids stayed busy.

The dogs that usually occupied the homes were deliberately killed from food poisoning. They were a problem during eating time, but I do not agree with the Nicaraguan treatment of dogs.

The homes started putting up Christmas decorations as well. The homes had artificial trees and green vines above doors. In the volunteer home, we have candy canes and even mistletoe!

Because it is a tradition, the kids participated in something called a Purisima. This means that for 9 days, every day, the kids pray and sing and then receive sugar cane, fruit, and candy. They also participated in the Posada, re-acting when Mary and Joseph went door to door asking for a place to stay. A group of people came to each home, wearing costumes and carrying candles. It was such a powerful thing to walk with my family in the dark, holding candles and singing praise songs. Each department can host a posada and they need to dress up in costumes. Examples were sheep, stars, May and Joseph, or angels.

Christmas is celebrated on the 24th in Nicaragua. Most people stay with their families and then at 9pm, go to parties until New Years. It is a strange custom for me. Usually, my family celebrates both the 24th and 25th. For NPH, the 24th starts with mass at 6am. I think it is a little crazy to get up so early, however, I think that was the only available time for the father to administer mass. The volunteers gave photo albums with pictures for each child from donated money by friends. It was a special gift for them.

Last Moments
These last days have been flooded with many emotions. For me, it is the last time I will be with the other volunteers; I am trying to spend quality time with them. However, I am also extremely busy working my job as Home Correspondent and starting my new job as coordinator. I also need to finish up with my English responsibilities. I am also scrambling with the others to get a new visa, as ours expire on January 2nd and most of us do not fly out until the 10th or later. If we cannot get the visas, we need to flee the country!

My time with the kids is always beautiful. I am really proud of them for their accomplishments and happy to be apart of their family. They continue to surprise me every day. I love walking into their home and being greeted with hugs and laughter. I am happy that the move to the new property has been canceled due to the government regulations. Only the kids studying 4th and 5th years in high school or in the university will move now. This is a relief, as the kids will help me get through the 6 months I have left. I am happy we will be able to spend more time together now.

I wish you all a very loving Christmas, filled with a lot of joy. I can tell you that my Christmas will be very joy filled, as is every day here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb