Detroit, MI to Managua, Nicaragua - Musings on the airplane


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What is it about getting older that makes you scared to do new things? I am super excited about the adventures we are about to embarq on but at the same time there is a sizzle of nervous, scared anticipation. I would never have felt this way when I was in my 20's.....

Is it because we are traveling alone? Is it because we are sitting in the airport at our gate listening to a woman talk on her cell phone in Spanish and I don't understand her - heh heh. We're screwed.

I pray my gringo Spanish will keep us safe and out of trouble.

I keep thinking about this anxious felling I have getting on the plane to Managua. Perhaps my desire to anticipate what will happen in order to be well prepared is the reason for that feeling. I have control issues - hmmm sounds a bit harsh but it is true.

The adventure is not knowing what will happen hour by hour. The adventure is sitting on an airplane listening to the couple next to me murmur in French and the ladies across the aisle chatting in Spanish.

Flying above the earth, going farther south than I have ever been - I am happy to be with my husband. Could this be the allure for those with wanderlust? That nervous anticipation for the unknown could be as addicting as conqueoring a Crossfit workout. All the more made sweet by having my new husband at my side.

We are a few hours from landing and I can't wait to see, hear, smell, touch and be in a new experience - something unlike anything this small town girl has ever felt. Or will it be the same - another piece of terra firma with different decor?



Ok.... almost landing in Managua. I told myself an active volcano wouldn't be that exciting. I'm a firefighter right? I see smoke all the time... nevermind - Its freaking cool! I feel my heart rate accelerating while I am glued to the window watching the plume drift from the top of the volcano. To live calmly at the base of that - wow heh heh

I'm excited.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb