Ask and you shall recieve


Advertisement
Published: January 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Poneloya

Managua AirportThrough LeonTo Surfing Turtle Lodge - Poneloya

Well I wanted beach, hot, sun and all alone. Ask and you shall receive. I can't describe how beautiful this country is so far. Landed in Managua the capital city. Nicaragua is the safest country in central America. However they say the roads are dangerous. Yes I can see why, not because of speed and congestion like I thought. It was slow driving, dogs, bikes, cows, horse drawn wagons with loads of all sorts of thing, trucks with people piled up on top, and even horses roaming randomly about. I can't believe all the horses roaming everywhere like they belong to no one. So strange. Eden's mouth would drop open. Saw Mombotombo from the air as we came in as well as on the way to Poneloya, however you can't really not see it. It's huge even from the air. Stopped on Leon to run a few of the drivers errands. Pick up something from his wife, pick up his kids, etc. then finally Poneloya. Surfing Turtle is on a small island so the was a small motor boat waiting there. Five min ride across and then by horse and wagon for about ten minutes. Finally here! I am the only guest!! This beach is beautiful. The water is warm. And everyone knows I has to be warm for me to go in. No one on the beach. It is so hard to wrap my brain around, I still can't understand it. It's such a strange feeling. It not like other places like where is there room to lay down. It's like where do I lay down on this massive beach, anywhere...?? Really?? You can see for miles both ways and no one. Sea shells galore. I'm in heaven, my bag will be full. The sand is brown but feels like flour. There is a turtle nest here and they have it with a little fence around so I doesn't get disrupted. It cools off a bit at night. I had to put a towel over me as well. You only have a sheet on the bed. The cabana is right on the beach and open to the ocean with just screens in the front and a thatched roof. So the waves woke me up twice last night. No pictures right now. Just the few I took on my iPhone as I don't have a computer to down load. Maybe I will get to one in a few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

018018
018

Turtle nest that they were trying to protect.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb