of delicate skin ... and seeds


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay, this is gonna be short as I need to go buy cheese and mangos and catch a bus... however...

The ONE day I don´t bring a sacko, I have 3 big, heavy manilla envelopes FULL OF SEEDS from my mother!

So I went to go look for a sack. I ended up with a big black trash bag. I have 4 canvas bags at home. But I thought, gee, probably won´t be anything.... And of course there are.

Went to the pharmacy because, guess who has another allergy? THIS volunteer. I never have diarrhea. Even though I drink the community water, eat fruit and food that has fallen on the dirt floor, eat all the food that everyone here eats, and rarely get to wash my hands with clean water and soap before I eat.

I have a stomach of steel.

My Spanish is coming along, too. Sure, there are new things I learn everyday. And moments when I smile and nod and then realize that´s the wrong response. But, in general, I do alright in Moropoto and Somoto.

However. My skin.

My skin is just more delicate than Nicaraguan skin. I always have some kind of bites or some kind of rash. There could be a mosquito under my mosquito net and it would never even touch Lenin but suck every limb that was out of the blanket of mine dry. I get bug bites from bugs I never see. Only on my feet. And I get rashes like whoa. No one is sure where they come from, myself included. No idea.

There is a labrotory (that does not look like it´s spelled correctly) and a pharmacy in each department capital that the PC works with. As in, I don´t have to pay. So yesterday I called the doc and said, sup, my skin is all rashy and it´s spreading and all the sweat isn´t healping. What do I do? She said go pick up 3 things at the pharmacy. But the pharmacy was closed yesterday afternoon, for no apparent reason. So I came back in today. And it was open. But she didn´t have two of the things and the other is too many milligrams. So she´s ordering them, they´ll get here tomorrow, and she´ll call me. Which means I come back in tomorrow. Again. And then maybe the whatever-the-rash-allergy will go away.

But for now I go buy cheese and mangos and catch the bus.

ps mom. regarding the long phone convo.... all a misunderstanding. still paying and bringing stuff to mamita´s and eating there, no problem. more later.



Advertisement



27th May 2009

and,....
How's this rash? Gone by now? Did you ever actually get the 3 things from the pharmacy that were ordered for you??

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb