Photos


Advertisement
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I finally found an internet place that had a computer that recognized my camera card. Hope you like.

Dawn


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Ampora making tortillasAmpora making tortillas
Ampora making tortillas

My host mother making tortillas at her mothers house
My BedroomMy Bedroom
My Bedroom

Here is where I am sleeping. There is no door, but there are drapes in the doorway.
Composting ToiletComposting Toilet
Composting Toilet

Most houses have their own toilet. Ours is green, but don´t know why.
House from frontHouse from front
House from front

Here is the family´s house from the front. It is newly constructed.
Christmas tree in living roomChristmas tree in living room
Christmas tree in living room

This is in the living room. There is not much furniture because they just moved in.
Amporas parentsAmporas parents
Amporas parents

Here are my hostesses parents. Mama is Petronia and papa is a campesino farmer. He is busy every day up in the mountains with his cows and his coffee plants.
Outdoor ovenOutdoor oven
Outdoor oven

Here is where they make tortillas when the weather is hot.
My ClassroomMy Classroom
My Classroom

Not far from the house is the area where classes are conducted. Muy fresco!
PigPig
Pig

Out behind the house is this pig. He will be butchered and sold to the town nearby. He grunts at everyone as they go to the latrine.
Getting Ready for ClassGetting Ready for Class
Getting Ready for Class

This week I have classes with Maribel. Next week I have another teacher. I took this picture while I waited for Maribel to get started.
Shower stallShower stall
Shower stall

Here is where we take our showers. Yesterday, I heard Rosa (Ampora´s sister) scream while she rinsed with the cold water. Maybe it helps; I haven´t tried it yet.
War MemorialWar Memorial
War Memorial

This is the memorial I wrote a little about in my last blog.
Tortilla CookingTortilla Cooking
Tortilla Cooking

Here is one tortilla cooking on the indoor wood burning stove.
Water pumpWater pump
Water pump

This water pump is directly between Ampora and her mother´s house. They are lucky that they only have to haul water 20 feet or so.
Shower and Laundry areaShower and Laundry area
Shower and Laundry area

Here you can see the shower stall and beyond it the area where clothes and dishes are washed.


12th December 2010

Great pictures; worth waiting for
Finished Mistletoe Marketplace last night. 2 concerts completed and 1 to go on the 21st. Dress for this one red and green, Medieval costumes for first one of Christmas season and black and white for the middle one. I sent your blog to Joanne Rankin because she asked what were you doing in Nicaragua. I guess I mentioned it in note on her Christmas card.

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb