ran away to the beach


Advertisement
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hmmm apparently my last post... didn't post.

This weekend ran away to the beach in Leon. Met up with my volunteers who had medical stuff on Thursday, and I have mine today... so a weekend at the beach was a good compromise.

Now I'm back in Managua. Went to have a chest xray because of my bronchial coughing in the mornings when it's cold. Fun. Then to the dentist for a cleaning. Had a cavity. That sucks. But she filled it, no prob.

I do have to say, though, that I am impressed where PC sends us. They are all super fachenta and I usually feel underdressed from the richest of rich Managua men and women who are decked out to go to the doctor or wherever. Which is great since we are in a developing country and I figured it would all be sketchy for two years of service. But Hospital Metropolitano is everything opposite of my Chinese hospital experiences, and all the different doctors and dentists and whatnot.

Way to go taxpayers.



Advertisement



6th October 2009

be there soon
We get on the airplane Sunday and will be in San Jose Mon. morning...brother Cal is meeting us there...will try to find a temporary roof to rent then travel the country to try and find an area that truely suits us (and that we can afford)...and, of course the first few days will probably be spent checking out the beach areas...much too expensive for our pocketbook but have to get some fun in the sun...may not be able to get up to Nicaragua right away but will visit as soon as possible. la paz, los ticos nuevos

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb