not so much lovin the nica right now


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well. So yesterday I called the office about this chagas business and some other things that have been going on, and they were like, sure, but you need to come tomorrow and be here by 11am. The problem with that is that the first bus out of my community at 6:30 lets me take the 7:45 expresso which doesn't even arrive in Managua until 11:30.

So my alarm went off at 4:00am and I was walking down the mountain by 4:40 in the darkness before dawn. And I got on an expresso that got to Managua on time. However, having not eaten, I stopped at a stand in the bus station to buy a sandwhich, and in the 10 seconds that my hand was on my money bag and not on my backpack, someone ROBBED MY CAMERA.

Now, I was dumb and not watching and everyone was watching the gringa. But of course no one saw anything. Basically I am ashamed, but grateful that nothing else was taken. Though there wasn't a whole lot to take as all of my money is hidden everywhere al dentro and, well, would've noticed if they'd tried to take the laptop out.

So. After having dropped my camera in the Somoto Canyon and thinking it would never work again, I searched for cameras in Nicaragua. And they're all old models and overpriced.

So back to the lab tomorrow for more tests and back to looking online for a camera DAMMIT.



Advertisement



5th August 2009

I am so sorry!
WOW, Honey-O-Honey......you've got a lot on your plate this week, huh? I'm so sorry about your camera. AND your too-early trip in the dark. Molly, PLEASE do keep me up on the tests. OK? I mean, like, UP TO THE HOUR. When will you get the results? Also, tell me "again" about what kind of camera you want........you mentioned zoom, # of pixels (or whatever!). I need details. What would be the best way to ship one down to you?? In a box in a bag?? Insured. Love you!
11th September 2009

camera
Sorry your camera got stolen...if you can get film down there I have a 35mm I'd be happy to send you (or, if you can wait another month, bring to you when we hit Costa Rica)...don't have a digital camera to spare but if you're a photography nut you more than likely prefer a "real" camera...several lenses with it (zoom, telephoto, etc,)

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.2415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb