Day 5


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I wake up at 9 and sit outside on the bench. I hear my neighbors bustling around already and remember our beach plans. I probably won't have time for breakfast so I grab a papaya and can of coconut water from the fridge.




They come out and we say our good mornings. I ask to borrow their SPF 10 sunscreen. I'm pretty bronze by now and the forecast called for intermittent clouds, but I don't want to risk getting sidelined one second.



Yoga class has started. Funny thing is I have yet to enjoy it once since I got here.




We head to the beach and settle in. We get to know each other better. Melanie is a flight attendant. She shares with me her travel plans for the rest of the year. I asked how they have so much vacation time, they tell me in Germany you get 30-45 days in the year. They said the two weeks of American vacation is seen as brutal. They openly mock american culture and I agreed.




She asked about my Brazilian background and said I didn't look like most of them. When I asked in what way she responded "your hairs not black and you're tall."




They ask me why I'm traveling alone. I told them its too hard to coordinate schedules/budgets, and I really didn't care if anyone came since it would free me up to do everything I want at the pace I want. She told me she's traveled to panama alone and enjoyed it. "plus you meet friends like us!"




Mario who tried to sell me ganja comes by while they are in the water. We've talked a little every day. He shakes my hand and asks me about them. I tell him I just met them, we are staying in the same hotel. "ah you a real rude boi Italiano!" which is his name for me since he thought I was Italian when he first approached me.




We spend the entire day on the beach. We discuss seeing the famous negril sunset at ricks cafe possibly.




We eat lunch, I wanted to order a fish, but they kept talking about a jerk sandwhich. I didn't really want to explain my lifestyle to them so I reluctantly ordered it.



I decided to walk the beach to avoid grogginess from eating the bread. It's deserted. From what I'm told this is the slow season due to unpredictable rain. I traveled to buzios, brasil in their slow season as well. Just as beautiful but less crowded...




I get back and they decided against the cliffs today. I was hoping tomorrow secretly to go on my birthday. Figure jumping off a cliff is something a 30 year old doesn't do.




At 5 pm the sun is still hot. I plan on staying out until 6:30. They leave to go shopping in a craft village. The bread I ate for lunch is kicking in and I'm somewhat sleepy.



My plan is interrupted when a man is standing over me. "yoga center!"




"yeah I'm staying there?"




"you not remember me?"




It was Ron, who followed me to margaritaville the second night. He tells me hes been looking all over for me. We talk for a couple minutes, I realize he's not planning on leaving soon. Somewhere along the line he mentions he got into a fight with Omar. I decide I don't like Ron anymore.




I tell him I'm going to eat. He asks where, I tell him I have food in my room. He keeps badgering me for $2. Now I know why he's been looking for me.




I'm not giving people anymore money for no reason I told myself. If someone needs it and doesn't ask, I might just because I like them. I'm convinced Ron is an alcoholic.




He tells me I treated him wrong, I told him I disagree. He gives me a fist pound and walks off. I go in and shower and head straight back to the beach. The girls werent back to lend their shampoo so my hair was a golden mane of grease and curls. My tan is glowing. I haven't shaved since Friday.




I walk back and before I sit down a local walks up with a big smile.




"what's up man, you a movie star?!"




I laugh and say no.



"nah man you look like one, rock star?"




I keep laughing. He offers a hit. I turn him down. He tells me it's disrespectful not to. I do it to appease him.




"for real what movies you in?"




I thought he was making convo, but he was serious. He then told me he sold a pound to mekhi pfiffer. I turn him down. He asks the host at the restaurant I was in front of what movies I was in.




"man im just a normal guy, trust me"




He either gives up or I convinced him. He smiles, shakes hands and walked off.



In a way it was a fitting thing to happen my last day before 30. Apparently I'm not old looking. Physically I can still do everything I could when I was 20 and more. It just takes me longer to recover.




I analyzed the hell out of this turning 30 shit. I had to get away to realize it.




The clouds block the sunset. Still relaxing.




I buy two jerks from the street for dinner and head in. I'm in bed by 9.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb