rain, cuddles and struggles


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

it's overcast and raining for the...i don't know, 4th straight day, maybe. everyone has been bundled up and we send the kids out to play and run around for a few minutes here when the rain lets up.
there's supposed to be rain for i think 4 more days, so says the forecast.
we have more babies on the way.
i'm realllllly missing having friends my own gender and age to talk with about life and the Bible and everything that goes along with that.
so, girls from home, i think it's time you plan a little trip. ok sounds great.
and i got a spot of ringworm on one of my ribs.
and a little girl jumped out of a crib about ten minutes ago and almost knocked out one of her bottom teeth. with blood filling up her mouth, she didn't cry at all. she's tough and she wants her own way, and what she wanted sure wasn't a nap!
our babies are all doing pretty well. the premature boy has some crazy stuff going on with the skin on his face but it's improving slowly. and the poor child has been so constipated but i won't give you the details on the desperate measures in getting an infant to poop. good thing michelle was here to do it and i just got to watch haha...
i finally started writing some letters to people back home. it's a little different than writing in my notebooks to myself, because i know someone will read it and it helps me feel like i'm actually able to bounce my thoughts off other people.
don't get me wrong, i have a couple good, growing friendships here and we talk about God, the Bible, life, stuff like that. but they're boys. and sometimes i just need my girls. you know?
daily, there are things that happen that remind me why i'm here. i'm so stinking blessed.
a couple children are being moved soon. i'm REALLY going to miss them.
man, the rain is POURING...interestingly, it cleared up real nice for us to go to the beach after church yesterday.
it has been a crazy busy couple of months with teams coming and going. they are really appreciated and very helpful, seriously i mean that. but sometimes it gets draining because it's like constantly having company and it changes the routine and structure for the kids...i can see how they struggle with, "do i obey the rules i know are in place, or do i act up to get the attention that i crave?" does that make sense?
i finally got to meet a relative from my Farmor's side of the family. i haven't known her all my life but i could still tell we were related and there was a comfort in that.
she brought christmas presents from my family. the kids loved all of it. especially the little musical instruments. they're going to be able to use them at our preschool.
and my brother and one of my sister both sent me books. i was reading them in bed with one of the infants sleeping on me the other day and only stopped reading because he got really hungry this morning i couldn't put velvet elvis down. i rushed up to the house and locked my keys in the room. and the guy who is pro at picking the lock when this sort of thing happens just called in sick. there's been a barf bug going around our house again. just the other night i watched a little girl puke pink and orange creamy, chunky stuff all over the floor while miss michelle and i were watching an arnold schwarzeneger movie on tv.
one of my new favorite things away from the house is playing solitaire or video games with a couple of the guys and talking for hours.
last night was a new year's party at church. pastor cooked jerk chicken and we had ice cream and watched "cars"
it was so great because i constantly had kids sitting on me. some from our home and some from the neighborhood. it is the sweetest thing.
i'm serious.
everyone should have a chance to sit and watch a movie and have kids come to you like magnets. it's a bunch of delicious, squirmy yet peaceful goodness.
the rain stopped. crazy how it does that.
i cut my hair today. just some around the front. i want the rest of my hair to grow "tall" as they say.
i really miss hume sometimes. and home. and my family and our friends. but i wont even begin to list people off.
and oh, how i long to watch food network. i need some "take home chef" and "barefoot contessa" and "next top chef" in my life!! haha.
one of my dearest most bestest friends called last night! i was walking home with kemar and when i looked at my cell, i thought it was the jamaican area code, and i answered and heard this bright, cheery, gloriously familiar voice, "stina! it's katie wood!"
i skipped with glee and then regained my composure. we did a quick three minute update and planned on talking again soon because the credit on my phone was running out. when we got off the phone, i checked my credit and it was at .02. yikes!
i'm buying another phone card today.
ok. here's something people from home can do for me...
if anyone wants to donate speaker cds from hume to me, i'd love to get some of those. also, friends who are in joshua, if you have time and want to email some of your notes from like, old testament and evening discussion to me, that would be fabulous. hmm que mas?
i don't know.
i want to go watch "milo and otis" with the toddlers before we start lunch.
i'm wearing my mom's ring again. sometimes i take it off for a while, but i noticed that i always start wearing it again when i miss her.
friends and fam, please email me stuff. like life lessons and stuff about the Bible and stuff you're learning and all of that.
and if you know people who aren't reading this but should, please tell them about it. because it's the easiest way for me to keep in touch with people from home.

tell me, what do you all want to hear from me about what's going on here? i keep writing these random things in my couple of minutes of spare time here and there. i hope you can deal with the jumping around from subject to subject and thing to thing.
i'm curious, too, why does everyone say that i'm going to marry a jamaican? i'm just curious. does that seem like me or something?
i'm really curious what i will do after this year...school...work...Lord knows...i'm open.
please excuse any typos. again, i'm not taking the time to check all of that.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb