Honduras


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Celaque National ParkCelaque National ParkCelaque National Park

A 4 Peaked mountain...

Honduras - 4 Months




I spent 4 months in Honduras, spending 3 of those scuba diving on the Carribbean island of Utila.


Before heading to Utila we visited and camped out in the Celaque National Park, next to gracias, with its pretty cloud forests and four mountain peaks.


After the park I went to Utila, originally only for a week but I loved the diving so much I decided to stay and train to be a divemaster. I did tonnes of diving, with plenty of drinking mixed in, and saw turtles, a 9ft nurse shark, some whale sharks between 20-30 feet, some lesser spotted rays, sea horses, squid, many dolphins and tonnes of pretty fish.


After I had completed my divemaster I stayed and worked for 3 or 4 weeks before leaving the island to continue traveling.

Once back on the mainland I visited another national park called La Muralla, located at la Union, in the heart of the country with some more picturesque cloud forest.

I quickly passed through the capital Tegucigalpa, a big chunk of concrete with zero attractions.


Then we crossed into Nicaragua


Celaque National ParkCelaque National ParkCelaque National Park

...with great cloud forest


I lost my photos so I borrowed some from the internet just to show the top sites visited, Sorry if anyone is offended


The diving ones are mine though


















Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

UtilaUtila
Utila

A cute little Caribbean island
UtilaUtila
Utila

The boat over to the island
My Corn Flake ShotMy Corn Flake Shot
My Corn Flake Shot

Outside my $1 a night accommodation
Diving 1Diving 1
Diving 1

Me entering the water
Diving 2Diving 2
Diving 2

Pretty fish
Diving 3Diving 3
Diving 3

Me again
Diving 4Diving 4
Diving 4

Some of the nice coral
Diving 5Diving 5
Diving 5

I only had a disposable camera
Diving 6Diving 6
Diving 6

An advanced diving course
UtilaUtila
Utila

The area is famous for whale sharks, I saw 3 or 4
La MurallaLa Muralla
La Muralla

Another park in the heart of the country....
La MurallaLa Muralla
La Muralla

....with more cloud forest
TegucigalpaTegucigalpa
Tegucigalpa

A big chunk of concrete


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb