It's NOT just a breath mint anymore


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
January 22nd 2005
Published: January 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

halls "mints"halls "mints"halls "mints"

The beloved after dinner mint.
I believe that there is a conspiracy going on between the pharmaseutical companies (like the ones manufacturing cough drops)and the restaurants throughout the San Pedro area. Actually, it is an even larger conspiracy, for the people of San Pedro are using them for the same purpose.

If one would venture to the United States, and he or she would enter a restaurant like Applebees, at the end of the meal, he or she would be given a peppermint breathmint. Some of the restaurants even give out ANDES chocolate mints. In Honduras, however, I have discovered that there is a different treat for your after dinner mint.

In the US we generally ask for a Halls when we are sick with a cold, or have a sore throat. Here in Honduras, the people use the Hall's cough drops as CANDY or as breathmints. My friends and I went to Fridays here in San Pedro, and at the end of the meal, the server brought us the dinner mints. I was so excited to have a dinner mint, that I didn't even look at what kind it was before popping it into my mouth. Once it entered my mouth, I spit it out, for it tasted like medicine. I looked around to see if my Honduran friends had spit their's out as well. Everyone was enjoying the cough drop! It was then that I realized that this was NORMAL, and I was the one who was abnormal for thinking that Halls should only be used for medicinal purposes. 😊 Since then I have been offered the Halls mints by friends... this, in itself, is a huge sacrifice! So, if you are ever in San Pedro Sula, be advised that Halls mints will be coming your way!

Advertisement



24th February 2005

Cultural Insensitivity
You'll find that all over Honduras, people enjoy Halls mints as a dulce or candy. Your comments disparaging this practice is culturally insensitive and demonstrates that you are not a particularly well-seasoned traveler. Stay home in Kansas! You're just adding to the Ugly American mythos. - Antropologo
11th March 2005

OMG
I used to live in SPS and I cannot believe that those American chain restaurants are still doing that! One day we walked out of Ruby's on a Sunday evening and were handed a Halls on our way out...this is just Hondostyle. It makes sense once you have experienced the city for awhile. They probably saw the American name and figured...sure this will work. I love that city. - Molly
6th January 2006

hondostyle
Of course, Antropologo, we love the Halls mints... the dulces:) We just got a kick out of it, just like I'm sure they get a kick out of some of our cultural gems:) We've actually talked about it with the Hondurans, and we all laughed about it. The kids in my Honduran family saw it as candy, and I bought them Hall's mints knowing that they loved them. I'm sorry that the comments offended you, but just know that they didn't offend my Honduran friends and family:)

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb