Trying to Find a Balance


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
November 16th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos!
I am writing to you from Naco. It is a small village outside of Cofradia, Honduras. We arrived monday night and are staying in this village untill next Monday. Currently, I reside with the Hernandez´s. Its a grand time. I have four beautiful sisters and one adorable brother. This is actually the first time I have been alone since I arrived. We really enjoy one anothers company.

When I arrived to Honduras, the first thing we did was jump in the back of a pickup truck with all our bags. Sandwiched between Aaron and Elizabeth, I shouted over the rumble of the highway "I think I like Honduras best!" They laughed becuase we had only been in country for 10 miniutes. The feeling stayed, I do like Honduras best. Out of the three countries we have spent time in, I relate to this country the most. The people here are vibrant and outgoing and exude an energy that says "look at me, I am living!" Me gusta. Its amazing how different each place we have visited is. In Guatemala, the people were reserved, humble and full of tradition. Costa Rica was all about enjoying life and relaxing(Tranquillo, Pura Vida!) and Honduras is filled with thriving, giving, loving, smiling faces.

We are volunteering at the Christan School in town. Every morning, I rush out of the house with my entourage of sisters. I can´t be late to prepare for my 1st grade class. That´s right, I am a first grade teacher. For four hours every morning, I teach a class of 15 seven year olds English. Its one of the most challenging things I have ever done. Try getting six spanish speaking boys to stop kicking eachother long enough to explain what the roots of a flower are for and I will applaud you. Luckily, these kids seem to love having me around. I am greeted by numerous hugs and kisses each morning and whenever class seems to be too difficult to concentrate on. I am enjoying my current profession, but don´t think its somthing I will persue.

I have about thirty pages to write for New College and am dreading every minute of it. My trip is nearing its end and all I want to do is hang out with my sisters. It seems way more important at the moment then a silly ole´paper. Getting work done has never been a problem for me before. Thats becuase I always had the solace of my lap top and my own room. Trying to write a paper when your sisters are asking you important questions is extremely difficult and I cannot seem to master it. I am counting on my week in California to type all the work I have due. Untill then, I will continue to try, but mostly focus on these people I am growing to love.

Adios!
-E


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb