Que tal mis amigos?


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Miestros!Miestros!Miestros!

All of us hard at work! No, it was Fun Day and we were watching the kids play soccer.
Hello friends and family!

I have 1 ½ months left! I used to be counting down the days until my return, now I wish time would sllllooooooowwwww DOWN! Don’t take offense I am just very happy here. I love my students! I love my fellow teachers! I love the administration and Hondurans I work with! On the plus side, I am looking forward to coming home again and actually having a real job. I’m will be teaching Language Arts at Columbus Bilingual Academy to 6th-8th grade. It is a charter school and I will be joining them in their second year. I couldn’t imagine a better job. I get to do a job I love and be in Columbus surrounded by the people I love.

Ok so here are some funny stories:

1) The other day I found a dead lizard in my classroom. It was huge, and I’m not sure if it crawled in and died or was placed there. Yuck!
2) Last night I was woken up by a cockroach crawling around my medicine bag.
3) My 9th graders are a crazy group. I really like them as people, but they are so hard to teach.
3rd Grade!3rd Grade!3rd Grade!

So there is a picture of the 3rd grade soccer champions. This photo was taken right before they were crushed by the 4th graders in an intense match. The one in the yellow shirt is one of my 8th graders...he is not a 3rd grader even though he looks like one.
They’ve had a couple of bad teachers early on, so they have a bad attitude towards school and their learning. Anyways we had this HUGE meeting with all the secondary teachers and all the 9th graders. They were crying, saying that they would change blah blah. So the next day, we were going to have a meeting with all of the parents and all of the students. I sat through a 3 hour meeting entirely in Spanish after school and I wanted to be that dead lizard that was in my classroom. Anyways, they kind of got their act together, and on Wednesday I wanted to cry because they were working so well.
4) One of my 8th graders, Jean Carlos, punched another 8th grader, Mario. Jean has never been in trouble in his life. He’s a great student and the biggest secondary student. Mario is chubby, kind of a bully, picks on kids, goes to the office all the time. So Mario is picking on Jean, and Jean hits Mario. Mario goes down bawling, and Jean just turns around and walks to the office. Other than the fact that Mario totally got what he deserved, Jean sent himself to
Classroom in La PintadaClassroom in La PintadaClassroom in La Pintada

We took a class trip to a small village and this is one of the classrooms. It was a 45 min hike and then we all played soccer. It made me really appreciate Mayatan.
the office.
5) My students are actually improving their writing. However, I’m worried about their teacher next year….who knows what she’ll be like. Hopefully she’ll be great, but I’m still a little protective over them.

Ok see you all in a little over a month!!!!!!!!!!


p.s. After re-reading this I realize that these stories aren't really that funny. I would say they were funnier-in-the-moment stories.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

8th grade!8th grade!
8th grade!

My students hiking to La Pintada


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb