Honduras 2013 Dia 1


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am in Honduras! I say this with a certain level of enthusiasm, as I almost didn't make it on the plane! After a delicious dinner at Outback, I developed a severe allergic reaction to what I can only blame on the lobster tail. Hives all over! So I took a Benadryl and went to sleep. I woke up about an hour later in so much discomfort that we ended up at the ER at 2:30am. Having explained to the triage nurse that I needed to be on a plane in 6 hours, we hoped to be in and out with the necessary meds to get me cleared up and on my way. A little after 4am we were on our way back to pack up the car and find a 24 hour pharmacy to pick up some prescriptions. Needless to say everything cleared up just fine and still made it to the airport at our scheduled arrival time, 6am!

It is wonderful how many donated school supplies I could bring down, but it certainly made for some heavy bags! I didn't mind paying the $40 dollar fee as these items are so very needed here. Ran into to LMS students in line at the security check, so that was fun 😊 And when Matt and his family arrived we had a nice American breakfast. Unfortunately our flight was delayed quite a bit, and they mentioned this was due to medical issues. We did see an ambulance as we were sitting waiting to taxi.... But no worries, uneventful flight filled with music, reading, card games, and some light snacks. Customs in the airport in San Pedro Sula was cake, and all 22 volunteers were off to Villa Soleada!

I have to say how awesome it was to arrive in Villa and see so many familiar faces. I was greeted with hugs from the boys and girls, and comments like "yo te conozco!" (I know you). I met the new little guy in the Children's Home, Jose Ariel, who just joined the group on Thursday. He is adorable and seems to be adjusting fairly well. After dropping off our bags and taking a quick tour of Villa, it was time to challenge the Honudrans to a game of soccer. Anyone who knows ANYTHING about Hondurans knows that Life = Soccer and Soccer = Life! I'll just say we didn't quite give them the run for their money we were hoping for! But we all had fun and got to spend time with kids, which is the main reason we are here. Dinner (Tacos) followed by orientation and ice breakers, and after this entry I am headed to the shower and then bed! It is 2 hours earlier here, so I have been awake and moving for over 20 hours! Wake-up time tomorrow, 6:30am. Just like school! Hasta luego!

Advertisement



2nd July 2013

Oy vey...and in Espanol..how do you say that?
Glad you are feeling better. Quite a scare, for sure. Glad Robert took good care of you and you were able to get to Villa Soleada and enjoy your week. No shrimp or other shellfish this week..please? Love you. xo

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb