Honduras Día 3


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

OMG longest day EVER! Have mentioned our wake up time is 6:30 every day? Except tomorrow, tomorrow breakfast is at 6:30. Yay! Long days but good days. As much as I hurt right now (sunburn, bugbites, and muscles, I feel really good. Working here in Villa Soleada and helping the community with their schools is amazing. All of the Hondurans with whom we work are awesome. The kids are adorable. So friendly and loving. And the student volunteers are great as well. Even though I am the second oldest person on the trip (yikes), I have been making friends with everyone (not surprising) and having fun getting to know people. As I write this blog, all of the volunteers (close to 50) are hanging out in the volunteer lodge, playing games, singing, dancing, and just having a good time.



So my worksite this morning was with Leo, building support columns for the walls out of rebar and metal rods. I spent close to 4 hours making these supports, twisting metal and racing Leo to see who could finish the set first. He always won. J But we made 4 complete support columns which was great. After lunch, I was at a different location, this time sifting sand, mixing cement, and filling in the brick walls. I also spent time teaching Marcos English, as he is so intent on learning to pronounce things better. He can write in English really well, but needs help with pronunciation.

If I wasn’t tired enough after three hours, as soon as we came back to the lodge we had to board the bus to go to Cage soccer. We planned to bring some of the kids along with us, but they all jumped on the bus and there was no room for the volunteers! So we kicked a bunch of them off, and I felt so badly to see some of them crying. They wanted to go so badly! In the end we had just the boys from the Children’s Home and a group of soccer-playing girls. Cage soccer is awesome! It’s a soccer field literally enclosed in a cage, so it’s similar to indoor soccer in that you can use the walls. The boys played first, Hondurans against the Gringos. We only lost by one goal! Our boys can play! Then for the girls game, we had to rotate through a lot of people. I played goalie! First time in a lot of years, and it felt so good to be back in the goal. And I played pretty well! Even though I let in a lot of goals, I still sacrifice my body for the game! My knees are so beat up tonight J

Dinner back at the lodge tonight was spaghetti and meat sauce! Just like momma used to make. Okay, not really but it was delicious anyway. Tomorrow I am hoping to go to the other school in Bella Aurora. We shall see!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



4th July 2012

The kids are sooo cute! I hope your wearing lots of sunblock love your jewish sister! Xoxo

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb