Leaving Honduras


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 26 - Not much to say about today. I didn't sleep well, got up at 4:45am and left at 5:45am to get a taxi to the ferry. The ferry was almost in the same place as the Carnival ship yesterday – there was a new ship there today. The ferry left at 7am and it was totally calm. Such a different experience that the ride over. I talked to a woman from Roatan who lives in the Cayman Islands for work for most of the ride. Then I had to get my luggage and a taxi to the bus for Tegucigalpa. It was leaving shortly afterwards, so that was good. From 9:30am until almost 2pm, I was mostly in a sleepy haze. Not quite asleep, but not quite awake. That really is a decent way to spent bus time. We stopped once at 2pm and I got some Doritos and some oatmeal cookies. I am looking forward to repeating the experience tomorrow from 6am until 1pm on my way to El Salvador. I can even eat the cookies for breakfast and the rest of the doritos for lunch. Score. Once I arrived in Tegucugalpa, I had to get another taxi to the Tica Bus office to buy my ticket for tomorrow. Then the same taxi took me to the hotel I chose. It was full, but the one across the street had a room. Not the best neighborhood, my room smells a little like a smoker was here last, and the sounds of the street are really loud, even on the third floor. But it's pretty cool temp wise, it has internet downstairs, and a cable tv and bathroom. Hooked up! I went to a cafe right next store for baleadas for dinner. Filled me up, with a coke, for 3 dollars. Oh yeah. Then I used the computer for a bit, just because, and came back to the room to The Big Bang Theory. Could this night get any better? Yes – there was another episode afterwards! I'm beginning to wonder if I have a dependency problem on tv.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb