Jewel Cay Day 6


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
February 28th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Donald's boat. Donald's boat. Donald's boat.

Our ride to Utila to shop for food.
I'm sitting out on our little deck this morning in front of our room listening to the school kids playing stick ball one house over. I can hear the occassional wave crash & watch people walking down the path. Birds chirping. This place is really heavenly. Sipping on my coffee from Mayra's. Life couldn't get much better I don't think.

After Geoff wakes up we are heading into Utila to get some money & food supplies for our Island adventure. We can only pull out $250 at a time here, which is 5,000 Lempiras. Sadly, they still get spent & we are almost out of money again. There's not an ATM on Jewel Cay so we're out of luck. We're going into Utila with Donald, who makes daily morning trips to Utila for the locals & for guests in the hotel. The boat ride over was ridiculously funny. It's really windy this morning which is unusual for the mornings. Usually it's only windy in the afternoons. Not today! So, we get going & the waves start crashing over the boat & getting everyone soaked. The lady next to me brought an umbrella, opens it & shares with me. My lucky day. Geoff's seatmate did not have an umbrella, they were seated in front, & both got completely head to toe soaked. At one point the boat full of (mostly) ladies start giving Donald their two cents about how he should pick up his speed so "she don't take on no more water." The lady next to me kept telling me "I think he woke up scared today, he's driving so slow" (the word slow is super drug out slooooowwww, imagine with a Fargo/Creole/Island style accent). I could only laugh every time she said it, it was too funny. She also kept saying "he no want to get wet, that's why he going so slow." I'm loving every second! Especially with the play by play from my seatmate. Awesome! All the while, I can't see Geoff but I keep hearing huge splashes hitting the umbrella that is keeping me dry.....

We finally get to Utila & it is HOT! In town there isn't the breeze that Jewel Cay gets. Whoa. Hot. We walk around & check out dive shops in case we want to dive again after our island. We get money, grocery shop, pay our tab at Captain Morgan's Dive Shop office. We headed back to the dock to wait for Donald & our return boat trip. At least we'll be going with the wind on the way home instead of into the wind. We have seriously bought enough food for a week long trip. I'm not sure what we are thinking except that I know we are excited to have access to our very own kitchen! What a luxury. So with our two boxes (literally) of food we wait for the boat. We had to sit in the shade to wait because it is roasty toasty hot. Finally, on our way & the water is perfectly calm & we enjoy a dry boat ride home.

At the hotel we said our goodbyes to everyone. We took a bunch of pics, gave lot's of hugs & watched them leave on the boat. It was kinda sad. We've been traveling with Mike & Liz for a week & now it's just us again. I'm sure we'll survive.

Now we're hungry. We used some of the just purchased food to make a plate of nachos & began working on posting blogs since we are super far behind & it wasn't working yesterday afternoon. Nachos check, a couple blogs posted check, now time to snorkel. We snorkeled across the channel to Diamond Cay in front of us. It got really deep in the middle, but so clear you could see the sandy bottom. I kept expecting to see a big fish or shark (I always am pretty sure I'm going to see a shark, especially when I'm snorkeling off by myself) but I didn't. The snorkeling is so good right here. Couldn't ask for better.

Headed back to the room for another cold shower. What's weird about cold showers in this heat is that at first they are freeeezing cold but then in about 25-40 seconds they feel pretty ok. Not hot, by any stretch of the imagination, but comfortable. And at least you are clean afterward.

Our evening was super mellow. We had Cup of Noodle for dinner & just worked on blogs & such. Super relaxing & super quiet. It's like a whole different place now that all the people we've been hanging out with are gone. There's a couple new people here but it's definitely a more mellow vibe.

Tomorrow we go to our private island. We are super excited!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

All the food & booze we bought All the food & booze we bought
All the food & booze we bought

for Little Cay. I hope we're hungry...
The gang from CM's for the week. The gang from CM's for the week.
The gang from CM's for the week.

They're all leaving, we're staying... sad day.
On our deck. On our deck.
On our deck.

Our last night on Jewel Cay.


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb