"Welcome to Roatan"


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I worked all day today (which down here basically translates to just being really sweaty at the end of the day) and was looking forward to coming back to my room and taking a nice cold shower. This did not happen. Instead, I just took a “shower” using a gallon jug filled with water. I can’t make this stuff up.
To back up a bit, I’m pretty sure the problem can be traced back to earlier today when we *finally* actually got running water in our kitchen sink. However the guy who installed it must have forgotten to turn the water back on, or otherwise messed something up, and long story short we ended up with no water (and yes, we did try turning it back on. We couldn’t figure it out.). Because we’re living in a converted resort, our first thought was to try and shower in our classrooms (which all have bathrooms with showers), because it’s a different building so the water supply might be different. While the prospect of showering where I would soon be teaching small children weirded me out a bit, I resolutely set out with my towel and shampoo. Unfortunately, there was no water there either. I returned to my room, defeated and still sweaty. At this point one of the other girls I’m living with (who is thankfully more resourceful than me) figured out that there was a spigot at one of the reserve tanks which was still working. She had a couple of empty gallon jugs which she filled up with the water, and then handed me one with a smile. I have to say, I didn’t know it was possible to completely shower with a gallon of water. This isn’t to say that it wasn’t really awkward to attempt, at least at first until I figured out some technique. So yes, I now have a technique for showering out of a gallon jug. I knew I would learn new stuff in Roatan, but I sort of expected it to be like learning Spanish, not how to take a ghetto shower. All useful knowledge, though. As I returned the jug to my friend after my shower, I couldn’t help but laugh at myself. All she said to me was “Welcome to Roatan”.
By the way, my friend just came by as I sit here writing this, with my hair still wet from the eventful shower. The water is back on.



Advertisement



11th August 2011

Showering with one gallon
Impressive! We should all learn to conserve more. As they say, necessity is the mother of invention!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb