Visit With My Parents in Roatan


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
November 16th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My PlaneMy PlaneMy Plane

It was a 20 seater, although 7 of the seats were small bench seats that were supposed to seat 2 but unless you were sitting next to someone you knew, it'd be awkward!
Well, it wasn't planned that my parents chose a cruise that went to Honduras. They simply chose a cruise that had the right dates, price, ship, etc. and it happened to be going into Roatan, Honduras. The chances of meeting up with me weren't confirmed, but lucky enough, I was able to get time off from school. The school gives each teacher 2 personal paid days and I asked for these 2 days to be my 2 days. I was granted permission (despite trainers from California flying down during that same time to provide training - GOD BLESS MY PRINCIPAL!) to have the days off and go meet my parents.

The original plan was to drive with Walt to La Ceiba and then take the ferry over to the island, but when Walter got his new job, we knew he wouldn't be able to get the time off. I thought I would take a bus to La Ceiba and then the ferry. I would need to leave about 5am from Tegus on the bus and then get to La Ceiba and catch the 4:30pm ferry. I would get to Roatan around 6pm - 13 hours after I set out. This
View From My SeatView From My SeatView From My Seat

Straight into the cockpit. They did pull a small curtain eventually.
would take me ALL day Thursday. The travel back would take ALL day Sunday. It would cost me about $100 total if I took the first class bus with a toilet on it.

The option I chose was to instead take a plane from Tegus to Roatan (direct) that would be an hour flight. I would arrive in Roatan at 8am Thursday and would fly out Sunday at 4:30pm. This meant 2 extra days of vacay and it was only about $70 more than it would have cost me with the buses and ferry. I decided this was definitely the way to go and I am so glad that I did! It gave me the opportunity to do a night dive Thursday night (which I would have missed had I taken the afternoon ferry).

The night dive Thursday night was great! I had done only one other night dive previously. It was the one I did 4 years ago on Christmas Eve when I was getting my advanced certification. They say octopuses are the best thing to see on a night dive so I was disappointed last time when I didn't see one. Well, this time we saw
SmoothiesSmoothiesSmoothies

Dad and I enjoying my favourite smoothies on the island!
3!!!! They are such strange creatures that move so gracefully in the water. Down we all went with our flashlights and had such a great dive.

Friday was the day my parents' ship was coming into port. They planned to meet me at my hotel and actually beat me there, as I was out walking the strip, waiting for them to come. It was great to hear the familiar voices, look up the stairs and see their faces, and then give them big hugs!

Unfortunately, the weather was not very good Thursday nor Friday, so it was kind of rainy and dreary. We didn't spend much more than about 45 mins on the beach, but we walked the whole of West End, ate my favourite smoothies on the island, enjoyed some Salva Vida beers at Sundowners, ate a delicious lunch on the water, and just enjoyed each others' company.

6 hours goes WAY too fast.

It was sad to say goodbye, but I was glad to have had the time with them, no matter how brief.

Saturday, I woke up to do 2 more dives. One was a deep wreck dive and another was a drift dive of the coral wall. Great dives.

The sunshine finally decided to come out and I got to enjoy some sunshine Saturday afternoon. Saturday night I met up with a friend from 4 years back, named Michelle, who still lives on the island. We enjoyed a few drinks at good ol' Sundowners!

Sunday I got to enjoy a bit more sun before the flight home in the afternoon.

It was an unexpected trip, but a very enjoyable one. I am so glad I got the opportunity to see my parents!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Silly UsSilly Us
Silly Us

(Mom's head is not attached to her neck)
Michelle and I Michelle and I
Michelle and I

enjoying a couple of drinks at Sundowners
FINALLY SUN!FINALLY SUN!
FINALLY SUN!

The dive boat on the left.


16th November 2010

Awesome
Aww man... wish I were there right now! Sounds like a great trip. I was wondering if you'd see Michelle. That Sundowners sign must be new. Fun!
16th November 2010

Fleeting visit
Our brief visit with you in Roatan was enjoyable in every way, albeit the time passed much too quickly. Roatan is beautiful, as are you. Your mother and I raised a fine, young woman. And we are very proud of that. We consider ourselves so very fortunate (blessed) to be able to link up like that. Sending all our love, now and always, DAD XXX OOO. Godspeed, Sarah.
3rd January 2011

Enjoyed ....
your blog. I wish you many more safe travels. Alec

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb