Beach + Books


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monsoon in the morning! Fortunately I had already been to town and back before it started.
I ended up at Rudy’s again, as no one else had internet or was open at 7:15am. I tried the "typical" breakfast - that's actually what they call it. Fried eggs, corn tortillas, white cheese (seems similar to feta), refried red beans. I made my own little baleadas. Better with avocado, but still good.
I said a sad good-bye to Lands End (and Noah and Margaret) and was whisked away to Las Sirenas.
I hardly know where to begin. There’s a remote to control the AC. And they slapped a silly yellow bracelet on my arm. This bracelet = free food and drinks etc. Including alcohol. What?! This is crazy. My room smells like candy and under the sink smells like a pina colda. And it seems to be coming through the air vents. I suspect this is a sweet smelling noxious gas designed to make the guest more complacent.
Good thing this place is all inclusive, as the ONE ATM here is broken and will likely stay that way. The TWO ATMs in West End were both broken this morning when I left. Apparently
The new pool.The new pool.The new pool.

A bit ostentatious, but a lot less bugs.
this is extremely common. Everyone just shrugs. Well, I hope no one minds not being tipped then.
I spend I lovely day bouncing between the pool and the beach, reading and occasionally drinking a pinapple daiquiri. One more day to get super tan, and then I begin my trek to Antigua. To Ryan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Far end of West Bay.Far end of West Bay.
Far end of West Bay.

With an afternoon storm rolling in.
Sunset.Sunset.
Sunset.

The green flash still eludes me.
Dress guys.Dress guys.
Dress guys.

All sorts of beach vendors prey on the tourists...dresses, sunglasses, jewelry, and occasionally DVDs. Too bad all your ATMs are broken.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb