Are you for scuba?


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast time!Breakfast time!Breakfast time!

The deer eat pinapple, papaya and watermelon.
From “The Art of Racing the Rain”…
“I marveled at them both; how difficult it must be to be a person. To constantly subvert your desires. To worry about doing the right thing, rather than doing what is most expedient. At that moment, honestly, I had grave doubts as to my ability to interact on such a level. I wondered if I could ever be the human I hoped to be.”
I borrowed “The Art of Racing the Rain” from Adi’s office when I checked in yesterday. And finished it this morning during breakfast. Now he thinks I’m some speed reading prodigy. I tried to explain it’s just an easy read. But he gave me a 700 page tiny print book to read next.
Staying at his hotel is like staying at his house. It’s a very relaxed atmosphere. The bar is set up with an honor system. If the bartender isn’ t around, then you just make or grab your own drink and write it down. Except I don’t know how to make the signature drink, a Monkey Lala, so I have to wait for the Joe for that. (All I’ve seen them put in it is Kaluha, rum, ice,
Some sketchy alley cat.Some sketchy alley cat.Some sketchy alley cat.

Emaciated cats and dogs roam all over the island. Chickens too.
and what I believe is honey.) Delicious and worth the wait.
I tried snorkeling today. I hate that mask. I hate the actual snorkel less. I can’t stand having that thing stuck to my face! I just had LASIK done so I didn’t have to have an apparatus attached to my face to see!
I also starting reading the Open Water Certification book. Blech. Another text book! I’m already reading a Spanish book. Now another book full of lessons! (And if I get these wrong - I die.)
In light of all that info, I will be taking this time to become an awesome snorkeler. In lieu of diving. You’re supposed to be totally comfortable with the mask and whatnot first, so I’d better get on it.
Marvelous though! This actually allowed me the time to go horseback riding today. We were briefly pursued by some of the wild dogs that roam the island (a la my family’s trip to Barbados), which caused a 13 year old girl to cry the entire rest of the time. However the problem was quickly solved when one of the horses kicked the dog in the face. (Sorry Enzo.) Afterwards, our guide gave me
The horse!The horse!The horse!

This is before we were attacked.
a ride home on his crotch-rocket scooter hybrid. I never thought I would be riding home on a motorcycle with a cross-eyed native island man with dreadlocks. Roatan is a funny little island.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The end of West End.The end of West End.
The end of West End.

West Bay is right around that corner.


4th August 2010

enzo wisdom
lnz...i am pretty relieved that you have finally ended up in a place that sounds like it actually might have some promise. can't believe you had to go all the way there to read Racing, especially as much as i pimped it up to ryan. gave him the book...ryan have you read it yet?, and you avoided it somehow. once you have read it, you are a different person, i think, at least with regard to dogs. i just got an e-mail from one of my friends who travels a whole lot with his family and he said he was leaving for guatemala. tried to catch him, but missed. sent him an e-mail. maybe he will read it and end up somewhere near one or both of you. he, his wife and 2 daughters are worth the meet for sure if i can figure it out. and between them they know just about everything about anywhere they go. his name is beaman floyd in case you see him and i don't reach him. just ask everyone you see with a spouse and 2 daughters who looks american if his name is bman. and remember if you see any monkeys what enzo said: "monkeys ...are practically the dumbest species on the planet, next to the duck billed platypus (which) is only slightly dumber than a monkey." so if there are any monkeys near you, don't trust them. xo, j
4th August 2010

This. is. awesome.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb