Diving in Roatan


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally got off my arse and did some diving today. I did three dives and all were different. The first dive was a reef dive - beautiful fish and coral everywhere. The second dive was at a site called Canyon Reef. We dived single-file through canyons and tunnels made of coral. It's strange because in Sydney I have anxiety attacks when I drive through tunnels but I love diving through coral tunnels and in confined spaces in wrecks. The weather turned on us for our third dive. The current was strong and the waves were so choppy, I hit my head several times on the boat trying to get my fins off.

On Wednesday I'm having my final two dives. I specifically asked for a wreck dive and they're offerered to make it a Deep Dive specialty course for an extra US$25. It's a Padi course but with this course and my other three SSI courses I can now get my Advanced Diver upgrade when I go back to Sydney. When I did my Specialty courses in March I hadn't reached the pre-requisite 24 dives. But now I'm sitting on 27!! Then I can do my Stress & Rescue Specialty, a few more dives and then it's the Dive Master option!

I dived today with six poofs from San Francisco. They were hilarious. It was like diving with six Matt and Mark's. There's actually 14 of them and they've rented three mansions on the other side of the island. They have their own driver, two cooks, maid service and the three mansions share one huge pool. I can just imagine the type of debauchery they'd be getting up to. They boys are doing the wreck dive on Wednesday too so I'm sure I'll hear more stories.

Exercise, eating well, sleeping well, reading lots, diving -- this is shaping up to be the best holiday ever!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb